Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 October 2013
This map is proof that in this era of low-cost road atlases, there is still a place for a good road map.

The sheet covers the whole of Mid and North Wales from Cardigan northwards plus some of the adjacent areas of England. The scale of 1:175k shows the road network and general topography in the sort of detail useful to someone who doesn't just want to get from A to B by the shortest or quickest route. The relief shading I particularly liked - I still don't understand why most maps/atlases have done away with this.

There are also small inset maps of the main towns of the region.

My one criticism is that national cycle routes aren't marked on the map. Although these are shown on a small-scale inset (at a scale of about 1:1M) this is of no help whatsoever in locating the actual way-marked routes on the ground. A little more work by the map-setters and the routes could have been depicted in the main map. For those who want that detail, visit the Ordnance survey website, go to customised maps, scroll down the appropriate region at 1:50K then mark the cycle routes on your 1:175K hardcopy as required. With those details added, this becomes a handy map for the cyclist who doesn't want to be bothered carrying a bagful of 50K sheets.

It's a real shame this scale isn't available for the whole of the UK
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2009
A practical map, with a lot of activities in the area shown. The map could sometimes be a bit more detailed, some hamlets are not shown.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2010
The problem with the OS tourist maps is that they are not a constant scale , one map can be very different from another . This is about right for the 40-50mph tourist , you don't run off a fold too quickly but it still has plenty of detail. For me it replaced a Michelin so old that Telford was called Dawley!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2014
Easy to follow, a large map so has lots of detail.
Especially good in conjunction with the rough guide.
Recommend to road-trippers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2013
A small scale of the area. Ideal for motoring but too small scale for walking. Useful for planning in advance of holiday
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2013
Just the job for getting around the area and finding points of interest!!! Well worth the money!! Get yours now!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2009
Good map. visually clear. Adequate for normal travel with interest points marked and easy to find.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2016
Really good and clear map, just the right size and clearly marked places of interest and geographical features. Will be an essential aid for our forth-coming visit to Llangollen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2014
Item returned as it was not what I required. Map was of a very high quality.
Price good, delivery was very prompt. Would use again if i wanted this type of map.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2013
It is what it says and the condition is good, I purchased it to allow me to plan a holiday in North Wales where I can do some walking and sight-seeing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)