Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
28
4.8 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 May 2012
Its easy just to accept the high quality of OS maps as 'normal'. Travelling around the world has shown me that we are very lucky to have such excellent, reliable and current maps to hand. In addition, they are a joy to look at. Wonderful.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2013
It is not until one goes abroad into foreign parts that one realises how good the Ordnance Survey maps really are! In France, for instance, their IGN map series are available and whilst adequate they are nowhere near as good as OS.
I bought OL28 for a walking weekend on Dartmoor in April 2013 and found it well up to the usual standard. The advantage of these OL series tourist maps is that you get a lot of map for your money. OL28 covers an area from Ivybridge in the south to Okehampton in the north in two sheets, one sheet on each side of the paper. To cover the same area with the conventional sheets you would need to buy 3 or 4 of the standard Explorer series.
The problem with printed maps is, of course, that they are out of date as soon as they are printed. Mine is Edition B3, revised in 2004 and revised again for selected changes in 2010. For me this degree of out-of-datedness, 3 years, doesn't matter that much.
If you want to be absolutely up to date then you will have to subscribe to the OS Online Service. I can really recommend this map for walking.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2011
These kind of products rely on those buying them to know what they're doing with it :) Expolore series are great for the Sunday walker or the more serious trekker.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2014
raelly good for "map" reading and getting where you need to get!
it has a legend, and grids, its just out of this world!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2014
You can't beat an OS explorer map. Used this on holiday recently and it was great. Love Google maps and "footpath" on my iPhone but when I was in an area with NO signal (which was very often), it was great to have an old fashioned map to hand that was clear and easy to read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2012
Nothing beats an OS map in this country. Sometimes footpaths seem to vanish on the ground into thin air but this seems a general problem dependent upon the ethics of the landowner!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2014
This was a great help and is a good confirmation reference for an expedition that I did from memory first. great map pleased to have this for future work as well.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2013
This adds to my long list of OS maps. All are excellent, this one gives me just what I need for my holiday in the area.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2013
I will always use OS maps for walking or navigating in the UK. Accurate and detailed, would definitely recommend :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2014
This map is the perfect tool for people keen on walking to get the best out of the wonderful Dartmoor landscape.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)