Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 June 2011
The OS Explorer series works at 1:25000 which is 4cm to the kilometer or 2.5 inch to the mile. That's as tight a scale as you'll get from the OS (their Landranger series are less fine at 2cm to the kilometer) and it's easily enough for casual rambling or more serious hiking. To give you an idea of the scale, it takes four of these Explorer maps to cover the English Lake District (OL4, 5, 6 and 7 - for my holiday there this year I'll be taking three maps) and one for the New Forest. I would suggest that if you're driving or cycling on good roads and paths you may be better off with the more manageable Landrangers.

These maps are printed both sides, and they also fold out pretty big, so if your route takes you over the page, maneouvring these beasts can be a little cumbersome. Note also that the key is only printed on one side, across a boundary and that can cause some difficulties. So, some serious map folding is needed - when I was in the Territorial Army, we even had a lesson on the subject.

You could do well to buy a map case to keep it dry. Alternatively, you can buy a waterproofed edition of the map - the "Active" version which costs a few pounds more.

If you're sticking to roads, paths or decent tracks, or are going to be within sight of plenty of obvious landmarks, you can operate without a compass. If your walk is a little more adventurous, you'd be wise to carry one with you, but bear in mind that effective compass usage doesn't come without a little training and practise.

Final tip: before you leave the car park, "orient the map". In other words, make sure you know where you are on the map and where you're going. Line up your route on the map with the route on the ground and be aware that this might require you to hold the map upside down or on it's side. Try and maintain a reference between the map and reality as you go, matching landmarks on the ground with those on the map, and you'll never get lost.

Away from the practical aspects, I love OS maps and I can spend hours poring over them. It's almost as good as actually going to the places they depict.
review image
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2010
It is a map of Ben nevis and the surrounding mountains. I wouldn't really bother with it if you are driving to the bottom of Ben Nevis and then doing the "Tourist route" as the flow of people is amazing. Although in the colder and less popular times it might be useful. Other wise it is absolutely essential paired with a compass if you do any other routes or hills.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2013
Visited scotland five times in a very short space of time with only a sat nav. but decided to start a small collection of maps for further visits. OS Explorer and Landranger maps are ideal for my uses and they are efficient at taking you to ground. I will always use OS as my first choice and would recommend them to anyone thinking of travelling.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2016
Even up well marked paths like Ben Nevis, it's always best practice to invest in a map. At worst you can be the archetypal tourist and work out the name of the mountain range you're looking at, or a techie geek to work out how far you've walked and what altitude you've climbed. At best they could save you serious harm.

You can't beat Ordnance Survey maps for hiking anywhere in the UK and this map is no exception. Clear graphics make it as easy as possible to read and great attention to detail makes it as easy as possible to navigate wherever you are.

My big bugbear is having to put the map in a waterproof case which is awkward to carry and particularly annoying if you have to fold the map across a critical point in the route to fit it in as you have to open the case anyway which means if it's raining it all gets wet anyway. As a result I spent the extra on the "Active" version which is waterproof and grateful I did.

On the trek up Ben Nevis at the end of May we encountered sun, rain and snow. The Active map sat in an outer pocket on my trousers exposed to all these elements, but easy to access. Despite the conditions it performed perfectly.

I now only ever buy the Active versions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2015
Nothing beats an ordnance survey map, the fact that this edition is waterproof make it all the more invaluable.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2013
Unable to find the map I wanted in my local shop in advance of going on holiday and planning some walks. It arrived in perfect condition, on time and was much cheaper than I could get it in my local shop.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2012
A certain level of quality is expected from the O.S maps and this Ben Nevis and area's map does not dissapoint. Always likely to provide tough, foldable and lasting maps you can not go wrong with an O.S map. Perfect for any day around the Glen and Ben.
Happy Camping
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2014
It is an Ordnance Survey map so expect the very finest cartography on a very detailed 25k scale. As another reviewer pointed out you don't really need a map to do the standard route from the direction of Fort William. Even if you are heading to the summit via the more adventurous CMD arête soon as you get on it I shouldn't think it would be very easy to get lost. However if you are planning to spend some time in the area and want to explore a bit then a map is essential for route planning and safety in poor visibility. Enjoy your time in the mountains, don't be intimidated by them but treat them with respect in the cooler, colder or wetter months.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2013
I really like the OS maps but unfortunately the bit with Ben Nevis in is right on the middle and goes over a fold so it was hard to fold correctly to fit into a map case and has come out a bit worse for wear. I think this is just one of those things that happens unless the layout of all the OS maps is changed or there are huge overlaps between them so the main features are at the edges.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2013
Travelling to Ben Nevis next weekend. Having bought one of these maps for a local hillwalk, i would not be without one of these now!! As a keen Photographer, I am able to locate places of interest with ease thanks to detailed Ordnance maps. Great item!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)