Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
9

on 1 February 2018
Nice book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 January 2017
Highly recommended as thoroughly researched, intelligently written, very interesting, a joy to read, beautifully illustrated, luxuriously printed and competitively priced. Heaven! Did I mention highly recommended?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 February 2015
Well produced book with lots of facts.

Worth buying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 May 2013
I was very pleased with this book and look forward to the time when I can really have the time to enjoy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 June 2009
This is a very interesting book written by the wife of a former Prime Minister. The first half is all about the history of Chequers and how it passed through the Cromwell family and their descendants for two centuries before being bought by Lord and Lady Lee of Fareham, who in 1921 gave it to the Nation so that Britain's Prime Ministers could use this beautiful country house and estate at weekends, thus ensuring a break from their parliamentary duties at No. 10 Downing Street.

The second half of the book relates to the occupation of Chequers by Prime Ministers from Lloyd George to John Major. It appears that almost all of them greatly appreciated the privacy of Chequers and most of them used it as often as they were able to.

There are some excellent photographs of the building and its gardens, of Prime Ministers and their families, and of visiting Heads of State. There are photos of Statesmen planting memorial trees, of Prime Ministers enjoying Christmas with their families, and photos of the commemorative stained glass windows specially designed for each Prime Minister as a memento and memorial of their time spent at Chequers.

The book provides the reader with previously little known information about the history of Chequers and its purpose. It has been well researched by Norma Major and is a unique contribution about one of Britain's most familiar yet lesser known country houses.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 May 2014
For me it is particularly interesting as I am a descendant of the Chequers Hawtreys - I was one of the lucky few to have seen the house.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 May 2010
Wonderful book given that the author did reside here, from time to time.
The house that holds a vast history in the way our lives have been shaped, the countless meetings held in secret,
in a relaxed atmosphere, that may have changed the course of history.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 May 2010
This is a very informative and interesting discovery into the inside of Chequers and how it all began and how each Prime Minister has left there own individual mark on this historic country home.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 June 2010
Received book in what I consider excellent condition within a couple of days of ordering. Super service I would thoroughly recommend Britbooks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here