Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
32
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 November 2001
Not only an intersting and no nonsense "Fitness" book but also a really good read, and for absolutely everybody. The dietry advice is particularly good and Sir Ranulph articulates it in such a way it all makes perfect sense, and it works too!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2015
Seriously, this is the best book there is on health and fitness. OK, so not all of us aim to be super endurance athletes (who this book really caters for), but for the basics about exercise and food in a simple, straightforward way, this book is the business. Get it, put the others in the bin, and get on with getting fitter and healthier - as the man says - the hardest bit of any exercise/expedition is getting off the sofa!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2001
I am an outdoor enthusiast, and therefore Sir Ranulphs advice on ways of staying fit for expeditions has been very useful for me. Following his advice, I have lost some weight, did three marathons by now, and have not caught any cold this winter.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2013
I bought this book way back when it was first released in the paperback edition.
Ranulph Fiennes' philosophy is a straight forward, no nonsense, old school approach to getting fit and staying fit.
This provides the reader with the kind of information and regime that requires discipline, hard work and continuous dedication to achieve results tailored to each individuals requirements.
Beginner to advanced; if you are looking for a no gimmicks or "latest fad" way to get into shape then I would definitely recommend this classic book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2002
I really like Ranulph's style in this book. He talks about food, training, stretching etc in a no nonsense way and doesn't mince his words.
He actually made me feel guilty and wanting to get out there and train, and also to watch what I eat. It is a book that must be read through and not skipped over.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2010
This is a really great fitness and diet guide for anyone who is starting out or who (like myself) is already quite well read and experienceed in pursuing health and fitness.
Ranulph Fiennes gives a very good explaination on diet with the goal of being very fit and having a longer life, which he states is his long term motivation for keeping fit.
He also talks in depth about many different sports (running, walking, cycling etc)and provides excercise programs for begginners and experienced athletes alike.

Especially recommended for those training for a marathon, triathlon, or any extreme endurance competition.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2009
A first class book with excellent advice, much of it common sense, but take the initiative, read it, and it is a first class guide to better fitness and health.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2014
Does exactly what it says on the tin (you could say) but whether I can stick to it is probably another matter.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2013
Very well written and very simple and practical in it's approach to getting fit and being fit . Good work .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2014
I have had this book for years. It is awesome in every respect. The best advice for motivation - Stand Up.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)