Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



on 14 October 2017
Excellent story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 November 2017
Many recognisable elements of the classic Stoker vampire narrative. But, also like the original, leaves you feeling unfulfilled with the ending.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 September 2017
I have just finished reading the book for the fourth time and always enjoy it enormously. Well written, great plot and good historical context
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 July 2017
Would recommend author and book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 November 2017
I love her books. Well written and always set in interesting locals.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 July 2014
This is a truly brilliant read, an unusual story, and I found myself (almost) believing the premise!
Very well written, and obviously well researched.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 October 2017
Love this book, perfect for winter :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 July 2017
Exciting, good character portrail, but too verboise.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 August 2006
This book was a gift from a friend and I wasn't sure if it would live up to the great reviews. However it is a very intelligently written book and had a good blend of action, beautiful description which could come from a travel writer as well, as well as many classic story telling techniques and a lot of informative historical info. The story unfolds through a series of letters, written and spoken accounts. This is in the best tradition of the Gothic Novel and the stories within stories are easy to keep track of - so I didn't find this technique difficult to follow or understand the chronology of. I know some reviewers rubbished this way of writing but as it is a particular structural technique used in many classics I think it would appeal to people who have enjoyed the original Bram Stoker Classic Dracula as well as people who have studied a little literature or horror. If you like a straight chonological / 100% action read, then you might struggle with enjoyment of this structure. The content of the book is extremely varied and has something for everyone - there are scary vampires ( as well as a great Dracula) and vampire law, there is action, a surprisingly well written love story, there are amazing, atmospheric descriptions of places in Eastern and Southern Europe complete with really detailed and accurate historical referencing. I learned a lot about the history of medaeival as well as twentieth century Europe from reading this. In other places you can actually smell the food and hear the sounds described. For Dracular fans, his character is explored both as a historical figure and as the scary hollywood style vampire we've all come to know. Anyone who loves books, literature, travelling, libraries, history, gothic novels and vampire legends through the ages should really like this book. I found it a page turner because it contained a lot of interesting facts and the story was woven cleverly to keep you guessing. It loses pace a little at the end but luckily not enough to ruin the book. I really reccommend this because I felt it was a rewarding book to read rather than an easy vampire paperback which wouldn't really reflect the true depth of horror anyway.
0Comment| 69 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 December 2010
The Historian is a good story, and is enhanced in an excellent audio production. With really good narrators, (a stong cast list of actors including Martin Jarvis and Joanne Whalley,) and using engaging and chilling sound effects it will keep you going right to the end. More of an eerie thriller than anything 'gory' I enjoyed it immensely.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse