Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
13


on 13 July 2012
I came across Pancake by accident, he was mentioned in a review of "Once you break a knuckle" by DW Wilson, and I was instantly intrigued. In the review Kurt Vonnegut was quoted as saying "he is merely the best writer, the most sincere writer I've ever read." That was enough to spur me on to order the book of his collected stories, there are only a dozen stories. I finished it last night and am already looking forward to reading it again and savouring every word. It is so economically written, every word, as in poetry¸ has its specific place, and every word works hard. As Cormac McCarthy made the South his own, Pancake has made rural West Virginia his terroir and he brings the countryside to life with his profound knowledge of it. The stories as terse, gritty and told with power and grace, it you like Raymond Carver, you will love these. My only regret is that there are no more, I have read them all.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 June 2006
I originally came across this collection of stories by accident, and as soon as I had read the first one I began to search for more material by this astounding author. Sadly his life was short and this remains the only collection available. When reading these stories one can tell that little research was required, this was his life, his land and his people. The characters and situations are so consistent, so real, that it is easy to slip into this dark and troubling world and feel part of it. Pancake has the true gift of writing as though this was easy, as if these words are flowing without effort, and yet he worked tremendously hard to achieve this effect, and the end result is simply stunning. Read this, if you appreciate true writing genius you will not be disappointed.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 January 2014
Fine, unselfconscious short story writing, very spare words masking currents of tough American backwood lives. Great. It got to him, though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 October 2014
Great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 April 2015
An absolute jewel of a book. If you don't know of Breece D'J Pancake's work, do yourself a huge favour and start reading these fabulously constructed short stories now. Wonderful stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 January 2015
One of the best books of short stories you will read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 July 2017
These stories are amazing. Breece D'J Pancake was clearly a very troubled young man but e was also a very talent one with an amazing ability to conjure up a vibrant world of weird, wonderful and downbeat characters.
This book is one of the very very few that was universally appreciated within a rather difficult-to-please book group of which I am a member.
This book contains the complete works of a real one-off writer and I strongly recommend you give him a try.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 March 1999
This is an utterly sterling collection of short fiction set in Appalachian by a writer who truly knew the people, their language, and their land. Though setting thoroughly permeates these stories, they will be treasured by anyone who appreciates characters so real you know what they look like, how they walk and sound...
Pancake (his real name) died in '79, I think, four years before this collection was published. American literature is immensely poorer for having lost him...
Buy the book. It ain't expensive and you won't be sorry.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 June 1999
I first read this book in 1988, but I have returned to it many times since, to reflect on the beauty of the prose and the land it describes.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 March 2014
I still think about various of these stories most days. I've always thought Hemingway was a bit overrated, but Pancake wrote exactly as well as the hype would have you believe Hemingway did. Pancake just had this complete feel for the time and place he wrote in that completely immerses you as a reader. I can't recommend these stories highly enough.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse