Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
11
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 April 2017
Yet another brilliant black butler book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
Black Butler volume 9 contains chapters 38 to 42.
It is rated OT for older teens due to language and violence.

"The curtain had risen on the Phantomhive manor murders"
New arc! Ciel receives a request from the Queen asking him to hold a banquet for a special visitor and other rich people (including some familiar faces). Unfortunately on the day of the party, there's a bad storm and everyone has to spend the night at his house. It is far from simple though, as one of the guests is murdered so the others use their detective skills to try to find the killer.

This is personally my favourite arc so far. I love murder mysteries and this one is really clever. My heart stopped several times during this volume, especially at a certain point, you'll know which one if you have read it.

As always, Yana Toboso's art is incredible. The clothing, the new character's designs, the backgrounds, it's all perfect!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2013
Black Butler is a continually good - beautiful artwork that captures the eye and the story are intriguing keeps you wanting more!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2015
It never ceases to amaze me, every new chapter is refreshing and captivating :) Sebastian... What are you up to?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
She is reading them faster than I can buy them! I will be purchasing the next three very soon. Excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2013
Black Butler is a jack of all trades when it comes to manga. It's only been around for going on six years, but in that time it has factored in several tropey-as-all-hell plots: a food tournament, a circus, a locked room murder mystery, a sinking ship infested with zombies, and now a mysterious boarding school. Volume 9 is set squarely in the murder mystery arc, and it's not too bad, to be honest.

The manga starts off with Ciel being paid a visit by Charles Grey and Charles Phipps, Queen Victoria's butlers in this universe. Ciel is surprised to learn that his actions from the past volume have tarnished his name at court, and for some reason, Her Majesty will only forgive him if he hosts a party for a German guest. Oh, and he also ends up inviting Arthur Conan Doyle.

...Yeah, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, one of my favourite writers ever, is in this arc of the manga. And for the most part, he's portrayed well and fits nicely into the universe. Also, what other perfect way to get a murder mystery going than to have one of the greatest mystery writers ever at your party?

So basically, a host of rather forgettable characters show up at Ciel's manor: an opera singer and her stage manager, a shy shipbroker, Charles Grey, and some other guy involved in industry, I don't know.

Arthur Conan Doyle just awkwardly stands in the corner until Ciel decides to come over and talk to him. Apparently, after writing A Study in Scarlet, ACD had no inclination whatsoever to write any more Sherlock Holmes cases, and in fact is given a confidence boost by a thirteen year old boy with a demon butler. Huh.

After the German guest is found murdered, everyone goes into a state of panic. And the next morning... Sebastian is found murdered. As is the shipbroker. Oh no, it's getting like Umineko no Naku Koro Ni. And to make things worse, no-one can leave the manor because of a storm raging outside. (Considering the godawful weather we've been currently having in the UK, this felt rather topical to me.)

The manga still has the little flairs of comedy, the pretty artwork (in fact, Sebastian (the times in which he's alive, that is) looks prettier than usual in this volume), and a fairly intriguing mystery going on at the moment.

However, the mystery aspect only really kicks into high gear around the second half of the manga, and the new characters feel so disposable and trite. Yana Toboso usually manages to make incredibly overwrought, cliché storylines work in the Black Butler universe, but the murder mystery just really doesn't feel right here. The mystery itself involves a locked room, one master key, and all the other keys being locked away, and only the servants know where they are. So after a while the characters go from: "THERE IS ONLY ONE KEY TO THAT ROOM" to "THERE IS A LATCH IN THAT ROOM" to "WHAT IF SOMEONE USED A NEEDLE AND THREAD TO FIDDLE WITH THE LATCH" to "S*** WHERE ARE THE KEYS". I'm sure it'll get better by next volume, but I'm going to give this volume a 3.5/5.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2016
Great dvd, quick delivery, many thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2015
Daughter loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2016
Item as described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2015
Love this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)