Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 14 December 2016
As with Leviathan Wakes, the opening scene is excellent. How ever it sort of stalls after that with the whole book feeling more like a set up for bigger things to come. There is a lot of politicing involved in the story which adds an interesting layer to the main thread, but did become a little tiresome. Holdens love life, while adding depth to his character also became a little tedious. It felt overlong compared to what actually happens, with the two main pieces of action; resolving Praxs' hunt and resolving what's been happening on Venus seeiming a bit rushed. What I do like about these books is that they paint a very evocative backdrop to the environment and societies involved without going into Dickens level detail; just enough so your imagination can fill in the rest. I also like the fact that a lot of the technology is easily recognisable, making it feel more realistic and gritty. The twist right at the very end was great and hopefully sets up Abaddons Gate for a suitable conclusion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 August 2016
The second book in the Expanse series of space opera goodness by James SA Corey (the pen name for co-authors Daniel Abraham and Ty Franck), Caliban’s War continues the exploits of likely lad, Jim Holden, and his crew of misfits as they wreak merry carnage across the galaxy. Since the first book, things have become even more volatile, with Earth and Mars going to war and Venus quietly breeding a cross between Ridley Scott’s Alien and George Romero’s zombies. Meanwhile, Holden finds himself wham bam in the middle of it all with a trigger-happy Martian marine, potty-mouthed UN official and wiry little botanist who just wants to find his daughter.

I love these books because they don’t feel like books: it feels more like watching a TV series than reading. And, like all the best TV out there, I just wanted to bomb my way through it all in one sitting.

In short, this is some of the best sci-fi I’ve ever read. If you’re not onboard with this series already, remedy that right now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 January 2016
Not quite as good as the first book, I felt. If you intend to read through the series, then yes, important, necessary stuff does happen in this book - but I couldn't really shake the feeling that it could've very easily been condensed into about 30 pages in the next book instead - which also suffers from this same phenomenon. The writing is generally as good as the first, but the story, I felt, was lacking and the whole book felt more like a stepping stone than a story in its own right.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 7 September 2013
Caliban's War is the second of composite author James Corey's military space opera Expanse series. It is set in a Napoleonic/US war of independence solar system with humanity divided between the established powers of Earth and Mars, with the "Outer Planets Alliance" seeking to break free. In the first book a mysterious alien plague has killed scores of people, prompted a war, resulted in the destruction of an asteroid and is making planet wide changes to Venus.

As the second book opens, the forces of Earth and Mars are in an uneasy truce which is broken when a seemingly alien super warrior attacks on Ganymede.

The central characters of this instalment are once again Jim Holden and his Firefly-derived crew on the Rocinante.

Having now read all three of the currently published books in this sequence, this is, for me, the best. It is a no holds barred action thriller which keeps up a relentless pace. The new characters while as derivative as ever, are entertaining. A father in search of his lost daughter, a martian marine who could be playing rugby for Samoa, and most entertainingly a UN diplomat. She may be a woman, she may me Asian, she may be a grandmother, but in her manipulative modus operandii and her spectacularly colourful swearing, she is Malcolm Tucker.

So, if you like high octane military SF, if you want a piece of pure crash bang wallop entertainment, and if you don't want to have to engage brain too much, strap in and enjoy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 March 2014
After a slower start it takes of half way through and never lets up. I am actually now on the third book Abaddon's Gate. I can't tell you how impressed I am with this series. Well I will try, the characters are so natural, you know in most books the Author is obviously biased to one or another viewpoint or leading the reader. Here in this series they are as real as anyone I know. From their individual perspectives the characters are doing or saying what they believe is right, the Author just lets them be what they are, he does not judge. How can he become so many wildly different people, it's amazing. But then there's the most refreshing and realistic sci fi world, bound by proper physics that we can understand and relate to. But then of course it's the plot that pins you to a chair and grips you like a magnet. Brilliant stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2018
2nd Book in the Expanse series. Very good storytelling. Came to this via the Netflix/Sy-fy series (which I can also heartily recommend) and actually helped me visualise a lot of the plot perfectly. First books I have purchased for my Fire and very happy with the purchase..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 July 2017
When I was a teen Sci Fi stories were my passion then in my mid life they became same old same old. James S A Corey and his creations have one again revived my Sci Fi passions at the age of 62. Bring on book three.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 6 February 2018
Bought as a gift so I can't comment personally on the literary content of this, but the recipient was delighted as he has been hankering after this particular series of novels for a while. Currently sitting in prime position on his 'To Read' list!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 January 2018
The second book of an epic tale with superb characters and storyline. Really well written, with chapters of convenient length, so it is possible to put the book down (if you need to) without leaving in the middle of a situation.
I hope the second series of the TV version comes out soon as The Expanse series 1 was very well done as the storyline followed the book very closely.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 September 2013
Corey's style is somewhat of a cross between 1950's style boys own SF and modern Space Opera. As such I find it refreshingly different. Character development takes precedence to action - although there's still plenty of action for the guns and glory brigade. That said, the characters can be somewhat two dimensional. Although I enjoyed the book immensely, i did find the plot unsophisticated. Hence the three stars. That said, I will definitely stick with the series and, on this showing, would expect Corey's star to shine as bright as Hamilton and Reynolds in due course.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse