Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Morrissey Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 23 April 2017
This is one of the best food resources I own. I can simply find out which flavours work together. I cannot recommend this book high enough, a must buy for any serious baker.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2017
I used this book previously before buying and decided it was a must have, it is great for writing seasonal menus.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2017
Got it for a friend's birthday. Excellent condition, fast shipping and the book is recommended for anyone who wants to start out seriously by improving their dishes. It gives a lot of ideas and helps with creativity.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2017
Awsome book.....every chef should have a copy, allows the user to experiment with different flavor combinations
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2017
The best book ever! It has every flavour matchings you'll probably need.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2016
It is very much an American book and it is noticable when you read it... however, as it is not a recipe book you do not face the usual problem of converting American measurements and temperatures into something a bit more UK friendly. I would encourage you to give this book a try even if an American bias is normally a bit annoying for you. This book offers combinations of more than 2 ingredients, explain how to create winning flavour combinations yourself and provide inspiration in the form of quotes from food writers or cooks. It reminds me of The Flavour Thesaurus, which is certainly a better known book where I am, but I find it to be far more educational and entertaining. It has definitely helped me become a more confident cook.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2017
Well. somewhere between a 3 and a 4. It's a great book insofar as it goes and there is loads of inspiration to be had reading and using as a reference.
But, It's American. and the flavours they talk about are American. So if you're looking for ideas for say smoked mackerel , you won't be finding much inspiration in this book. Same applies to many flavours and food combinations from Asia.
So really, it should be called "The American Food Bible"
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 September 2008
Having purchased the same authors' excellent What to Drink with What You Eat, I was excited by the prospect of getting my mitts on this new offering. However this by comparison is somewhat disappointing, though still quite useful.

Firstly, it suffers from a problem which the aforementioned work also suffered from, namely that if item A references item B, then item B does not necesarily reference item A in return. Whilst in the earlier work this was not a major problem (partly because it was on a smaller scale and also because you don't often choose the drink first then the food afterwards), here it seems to be on a larger scale. Sloppy editing.

Secondly, some "obvious" flavour combinations appear to be missing. The blurb does say that this book is designed to cover "modern" flavour combinations, whereas their earlier work Culinary Artistry (which I do not own) covers "classic" food combinations. But this current work does cover many "classic" food combinations, so why is it not more comprehensive? In order to cajole us into shelling out more dosh to get the earlier book too? (Reading the introduction where they say this book should be used in conjunction with the earlier two books, the answer is presumably "yes".) Why could they not just have updated the original book?

Thirdly, some entries are just downright lazy. For example there are a number of entries which are not specific foodstuffs, but a particular type of cuisine, e.g. Hungarian cuisine. The thought process for these kind of entries appears to be along the lines of "What Hungarian dishes do we know? Gulyás (i.e. 'goulash'). What's in that? Paprika. So, paprika must go with all Hungarian food". Really?

This book is useful up to a point, and by all means buy as a starting point for learning about flavour matching (with the proviso that you may also have to buy Culinary Artistry for completeness), but don't expect it to be fully comprehensive, or as good as What to Drink with What You Eat.

3.5 stars.

(Update 10/11/08: I have since also purchased Culinary Artistry - see my review of that. Essentially I think that there is no reason to buy that earlier book as well as it does not appear to contain any information which this book doesn't.)

(Update 12/06/10: I have since also purchased The Flavour Thesaurus - see my review of that.)
33 Comments| 67 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2015
This book seems to be oriented very tightly on using U.S.-based brand name items, rather than focusinjg on usage and ingredients. Perhaps if you are in the United States there is some small value in this expensive volume, but if you're elsewhere in the large world, give this a miss.
11 Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2016
absolutely love it!
such a good book and so useful for anyone looking to do spontaneous/creative cooking.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)