Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
77
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 April 2013
i love this book. it fosters acceptance of difference so good for any child. we adopted our children and i like that it does not make a big deal about this and talks alot about other types of family too...'some families have 2 mummys, some 2 daddys, some families look the same, some families look different, some families look like their pets....' etc etc. Then right in the middle 'some families adopt'. Thoroughly recommend
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2017
Really good book for very young kids. I gave it to my boys nursery to use.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2017
Nice way to introduce different family makeups to young children.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2017
GQOOD FOr YOUNG children
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2016
Lovely story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2017
Wish it wasn't American with American spellings. I'd like to see mum instead of mom
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2017
Lovely book about difference for young children
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2011
We have a very diverse family and I wanted my son to have books that reflected that. This book did exactly that in a colourful and lovely way. I have brought 'It's ok to be different' because I loved this book so much and that again has become a much loved book. My only criticism is that I thought for some reason that it was a hard back book and it isn't. Probably my fault for not reading the description.

The pictures are colourful and fun with lots to talk about and the words are simple, inclusive and accepting. This is a much loved bedtime discussion piece for a 6 and 7 year old and entertainment for a 7 month old!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2016
Bought to use at work on first term topic 'All about me!' love this book as it is bold, colourful, simple and relevant in today's society with so many different types of families. Excellent for ages 2-8 and SEN work.Covers same sex parents, adoption, size, colour/race, step families,single parent, family likes and dislikes, different appearances in one family, expression of love, ways family act etc.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2008
I absolutely love Todd Parr's work, both in his books and his videos. No matter what subject he's writing about, or speaking about, behind it all is the universal theme of diversity and acceptance.

With THE FAMILY BOOK, children and parents learn that families come in all shapes and sizes. Some families are large, some small. Some all look the same, some look different. Some families have children who are adopted, while some families even have two moms or two dads. Regardless of how your family is made up, all families share some of the same things: they like to hug, they like to celebrate together, and sometimes they're even sad together.

What a great way to teach tolerance! The bright, bold illustrations and easy-to-read pages are perfect for both beginning readers and older children, and the story is even better when read aloud with a parent -- or two!

This is another keeper for your collection!

Reviewed by: Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius"
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse