Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
9
3.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
2
4 star
4
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:£6.42+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 24 November 2004
This book contains 4 stories of paranormal romance.

Winter Born by Sherrilyn Kenyon
Pandora is desperate for help so heads to Atlanta after she hears that the city is holding its annual Scifi convention, an event which Acheron regularly attends. Although an Arcadian pantheress, she is barely controlling her animal instincts whilst in heat and is determined to return to her own time, a future from which she was snatched from. Unfortunately she encounters 4 virile Katagari panthers and once they get a whiff of her scent it proves difficult to get rid of them.

Born Of The Night by Amanda Ashley
Lady Shannara is taken as a hostage by Lord Reyes in revenge for the murder of his father. Yet despite his vicious threats, no harm befalls Shannara and she finds herself drawn to the darkly handsome man who carries a macabre secret.

Make It Last Forever by L A Banks
Rider is a believer of free love with no emotional commitments until he meets a mysterious and beautiful young woman named Tara. After telling him he is a Guardian he finds himself offering her his protection from some nasty bloodsuckers as she travels to her Cherokee grandmother for a cure for the illness that plagues her. Yet as the journey lengthens, Tara finds herself hungry and the vein in Rider's neck looks mighty tempting.

Red Moon Rising by Lori Handeland
Maya gets by as an author so she's pretty upset when she develops writers block. Inspiration comes in the form of Clayton Phillips, a mysterious man who saves her from a strange wolf intent on attacking her. Maya's dull life is suddenly full of adventure as Clay claims to be a member of a secret organisation hunting something called a Skinwalker. As the blood moon rises and the wind whispers words only Maya can hear, she is terrified to learn that she is Chosen, the individual a Skinwalker marks for sacrifice.

All the other stories in this book paled into insignifiance when compared to SK's Winter Born. This story is an absolute must for fans of her Darkhunter series, with familar faces cropping up throughout the pages. I'm sorry to say that the other stories in this anthology failed to impress me yet I still recommend that fans of SK grab a copy quickly.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2004
This book earned three stars from me only, and exlusively because of Dante Pontis, the hero of Sherrilyn Kenyon's "Winter Born". What can I do, I'm a sucker for Hunters - Were, Dream, and specially Dark ones.
The L.A. Banks' story just made me skip pages, but the other two were passable.
Nothing to miss, there.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 11 October 2009
This book contains 4 stories of paranormal romance.

Winter Born by Sherrilyn Kenyon
Pandora is desperate for help so heads to Atlanta after she hears that the city is holding its annual Scifi convention, an event which Acheron regularly attends. Although an Arcadian pantheress, she is barely controlling her animal instincts whilst in heat and is determined to return to her own time, a future from which she was snatched from. Unfortunately she encounters 4 virile Katagari panthers and once they get a whiff of her scent it proves difficult to get rid of them.

Born Of The Night by Amanda Ashley
Lady Shannara is taken as a hostage by Lord Reyes in revenge for the murder of his father. Yet despite his vicious threats, no harm befalls Shannara and she finds herself drawn to the darkly handsome man who carries a macabre secret.

Make It Last Forever by L A Banks
Rider is a believer of free love with no emotional commitments until he meets a mysterious and beautiful young woman named Tara. After telling him he is a Guardian he finds himself offering her his protection from some nasty bloodsuckers as she travels to her Cherokee grandmother for a cure for the illness that plagues her. Yet as the journey lengthens, Tara finds herself hungry and the vein in Rider's neck looks mighty tempting.

Red Moon Rising by Lori Handeland
Maya gets by as an author so she's pretty upset when she develops writers block. Inspiration comes in the form of Clayton Phillips, a mysterious man who saves her from a strange wolf intent on attacking her. Maya's dull life is suddenly full of adventure as Clay claims to be a member of a secret organisation hunting something called a Skinwalker. As the blood moon rises and the wind whispers words only Maya can hear, she is terrified to learn that she is Chosen, the individual a Skinwalker marks for sacrifice.

All the other stories in this book paled into insignifiance when compared to SK's Winter Born. This story is an absolute must for fans of her Darkhunter series, with familar faces cropping up throughout the pages. I'm sorry to say that the other stories in this anthology failed to impress me yet I still recommend that fans of SK grab a copy quickly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I like paranormal romance, but not ordinarily stuff that involves werewolves or vampires, etc. In paranormal romance I usually prefer faeries and mostly urban fantasy fiction. I picked up this book at the library on a whim - Lori Handeland made me a convert, mainly to her fiction.

Her story "Red Moon Rising" is a tale about a super secret group of government agents called the Jager-Sucher - they hunt down and kill monsters. Mix that with a writer suffering a terrible bout of writer's block living in an isolated cabin and a skin walker/werewolf who wants her dead and you have one suspense loaded tale.

What I most enjoyed, however, was the first person snappy, sarcastic writing. I don't normally like first person stories, but Ms. Handeland pulls it off with such skill that you can picture the witty main character with great clarity. I actually laughed out loud quite a few times over the sarcasm and whitty dialog.

While I didn't enjoy all the stories in this book as a whole, I enjoyed this one story so much that I looked at her Moon series (more Jager-Sucher tales) and read excerpts here on Amazon. Having found that they are written the same way, I straight up ordered the first two books in the series. I can't wait to read those books and will likely order and read the entire series in the near future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2004
The Sherrilyn Kenyon story was, as ever, excellent. The other three just didnt get me interested in the same way. The plots wondered, the characters were weak and I felt that the authors had just rushed them out.
Worth buying for the WereHunter story but not much else.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2014
If you like Sherralyns books you will enjoy this one. Yet another good read of the Dark Hunter series. She has the ability to look at things totally differently from any other author
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2012
again not as good as i'd have liked,at least two of the four stories were worth buying this book, but each to their own.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2015
a good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2014
Great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here