Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
103
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 July 2017
Enjoyed it immensely
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2013
A very good read, just what you would expect from Katie Fforde, nice easy holiday reading. I always enjoy her books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2008
Not sure if i am doing the author a diservice here, i love reading her books, after a time away from reading her i have just been researching which books to buy, i came accross this title Second Thyme Around, it stirred my memory, i had read Thyme Out quite a few years ago and the synopsis of this leads me to think its a re issued book,if this is so its not a fair way to treat fans of the books! i am now wondering how many more of them there may be - i dont want to waste money on a book that i have already read!
88 Comments| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2017
The usual excellent story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2003
Especially with her ex-husband as a major distraction down the road! Fforde takes on another set of cheerful but damaged characters - this one deals with the second time around for a relationship. Perdita and Lucas were married when they were both very young and neither knew what they wanted to do with their lives. Lucas reacted to the uncertainly and fear by leaving Perdy for an older, more experienced woman - his boss. Perdy reacted by (slowly) getting a grip and making her way. Flash forward 10 years - Perdy has rebuilt herself from an emotional wreck into a moderately successful organic specialty grower. She stumbles into one of her local clients one day to find the chef has been replaced - with Lucas! He's totally insufferable, they fight like cats and dogs - and he realizes that he's never stopped loving her. And she really knows that too, but it takes her a while to come to grips with it. Along the way, she has to deal with the grief of the illness and death of the only person who has been a constant for her, her aunt. As she goes stronger, Lucas grows - well, not exactly gentle, but to be more flexible. The way he basically "rescues" her at the end is totally wonderful. As usual with Fforde's books, the supporting cast is brilliant - including her smarmy cousin. Lucas is a bit harder to love than many of Fforde's "romantic leads", but in the end you're won over (at least I was)! Read this - and anything else by Fforde - if you want a well-written, thoughtful, funny, romantic book.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2001
I don't know what the publisher is going to call this book, written earlier by Katie Fforde - no matter what they call it, it's another winner by Fforde! This one deals with the second time around for a relationship. Perdita and Lucas were married when they were both very young and neither knew what they wanted to do with their lives. Lucas reacted to the uncertainly and fear by leaving Perdy for an older, more experienced woman - his boss. Flash forward 10 years - Perdy has rebuilt herself from an emotional wreck into a moderately successful organic specialty grower. She stumbles into one of her local clients one day to find the chef has been replaced - with Lucas! He's totally insufferable, they fight like cats and dogs - and he realizes that he's never stopped loving her. And she really knows that too, but it takes her a while to come to grips with it. Along the way, she has to deal with the grief of the illness and death of the only person who has been a constant for her, her aunt. As she goes stronger, Lucas grows - well, not exactly gentle, but to be more flexible. The way he basically "rescues" her at the end is totally wonderful. As usual with Fforde's books, the supporting cast is brilliant - including her smarmy cousin. Lucas is a bit harder to love than many of Fforde's "romantic leads", but in the end you're won over (at least I was)! Read this - and anything else by Fforde - if you want a well-written, thoughtful, funny, romantic book.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is an enjoyable (if predictable) read.

Partita is a wholesome simple-minded heroine (not the brightest little thing) and enjoys the countryside and easy living.

Lucas is the ruthless tough-talking Latino-ish tall, dark, and handsome type (regularly featured in Mills & Boons) who bullies Partita. They were once married, but she found him too sophisticated and urban for her (not to mention is rather a simpleton).

This does read very much like a Mills & Boon, but thankfully Lucas is the one reaching out and changing his life to accommodate Partita's.

I like reading about marriages that make another "go" of it - and this one doesn't disappoint, If only Partita wasn't such a pushover simpleton than I'd score it 5*. Because the reason why the marriage broke down (and Lucas has a serious cheek) appears too be mostly coz Partita is a bit too simple (in the head)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2003
After Lucas's affair with his boss ruins their young marriage, Perdita and Lucas divorce and move on. After several years apart Perdita - who now owns her own successful business - finds herself face to face with her ex-husband - now a quailified chef. Perdita and Lucas have to deal with past, present and future all at once and although the sparks are still there, they are unsure whether old things are better left kept under the carpet. A twist of fate for Perdita means the only person who she can really rely on is Lucas...who is never too far away!!
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2011
Having read a few of Katie Fforde's books and found them light-hearted and easy to pick up and put down I downloaded Thyme Out.

I really do feel that books nowadays should come with a rating from the publisher - as films do - so we would know whether books contained swearing, etc. This book is a case in point.

The characters carried about as much weight as a piece of paper - the chef was a foul-mouthed,(had he been watching Gordon Ramsay?) bullying, nasty character. Our 'heroine', supposed to be running a very successful business, showed about as much business sense and indeed common sense as a gnat and was totally stupid into the bargain. And then into the fray comes a man - and it is so obvious what he's up to you'd think the airhead would realise he wasn't a very nice person, bu no ...

I will be honest - I was so incensed at the stupidity of Perdita and the awful language of our 'hero' that I only managed to get half way through the book and had to force myself to do that. So it remains on my Kindle. I have no wish to have swear words forced on me nor more drivel so I don't think I'll lose any sleep over not finishing Thyme Out. I don't think I'll bother buying any more of her books - not if she intends to keep writing like this. If it wasn't for her name on the book I'd think someone else had written it.
11 Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2010
Another brilliant book by Katie Fforde.

Perdita has her own business growing vegtables and selling to local business. One day when deliverling to the a local hotel/resturant she finds out the ownership has changed and her ex-husband Lucas now runs it. They don't get on at all.

Perdita lives on her own but she has her Anut Kitty who lives next door to her and they are very close. When Kitty has a stroke and becomes very ill Perdita and Lucas are pushed together and before they know it they are falling back in love with one another again.

This book does not just centre around Lucas and Perdita you have other poeple in it to. Like the poeple Lucas and Predita work with and also the making of a television programme.

If you want a book you can get lost in then this is for you, another good book by Katie Fforde.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here