Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
11
4.9 out of 5 stars
Maverick
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change

on 30 March 2009
The very First book that I read by Lora leigh was Dangerous Games the first in the Navy Seal series, and as I've gone on to read more by this author I have never yet been disappointed. This book is right up there with her best. Part of what LL does so well is lead the reader into the hearts and dreams of her characters, she enables us to enter a world of bleakness overcome by passion and love. The lead male Micha is very alpha but with a smidge of gentleness that endears the reader to him, and Rissa is a tormented woman coming to terms with the horrors of being betrayed by her father in a way most guaranteed to destroy a womans trust in men. This story has tension, betrayal, passion and moves at good pace. It also has LL's trademark red hot love scenes wich can be rather graphic and written in today's contemporary language, no purple prose here! This story will never be considered erudite reading but if you want a ripping good sexy tale this is it.

Maverick is part of a series but can be read as a stand alone, however I would recomend that you read the Navy Seals series and Wild Card the first in the Special Op's series as I feel that you will get more enjoyment from this book if you do. Buy it and enjoy.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is the second book the Elite Ops series and I get enough of these men!! Great hot and steamy stories this happy endings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 November 2009
This book has it all, romance, excitement, passion, danger, betrayal, more passion, killing, assassinations, its one for all those who enjoy a bit extra with the romance. The hero, Micah Steele, is pure alpha male (as is normal in Lora Leigh stories) he is Jewish, he was Mossad and is now in Elite Ops. The heroine, Risa Clay, who appears in a previous SEAL's novel, was traumatised and is still fragile. They join together to flush out a hired killer; he is using her as bait and looking for vengeance; she is trying to save herself. It's risky, it's dangerous, its sexy and its a great start to a new series from Lora Leigh. I found it an enthralling read, couldn't put it down, I think I appreciated it more because I had already read about Risa in a previous story so knew the background to her trauma before I started.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2012
I loved this book - my usual reading material are the "paranormal romances" but lora leigh is an author that can tempt me away from those. This book follows Wild Card but can quite easily be read on its own.

The plot surrounds Micah Sloane as he and Risa Clay work together to flush out an assassin. Risa has been through hell and after many years of trying to rebuild her life the same man has put a contract out on her life. Micah has history with the assassin and is determined to end him but soon finds himself caring more about keeping Risa safe when the cover of posing as her lover becomes reality.

This book is amazing. There is constant action to keep the story moving along nicely, glimpses into the mind of the killer and i found myself pointing the finger at practically everyone as little by little more clues were revealed about the identity of both killer and his employer.

Anyone familiar with Leigh's books is well aware of the highly sexual nature of her books. Fair warning to those who are not - graphic sex scenes fill this book from start to finish. Normally i say i like a few steamy sex scenes but many authors are incapable of a decent plot and resort to sex to get by. Lora Leigh manages both and somehow i never find it too much in her books - just right.

[Can't resist making a sarcastic comment here; in the last month i finally cracked and read fifty shades of grey to shut up those of my friends who think it rocks (IT DOES NOT). I wish i could claw that absolute effing nonsense out of my brain. This is what a decent erotic novel is like.]
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2015
Micah signed his life away to catch the deadly assassin orion when he joined the elite ops, they are not allowed to have anything that can become a weakness to them and their missions until his newest mission keeping risa safe from orion who has been hired to kill her and this is the closest hes come to catching him and he will do anything to catch him even sleep with risa, soon risa becomes to mean more to him than catching the deadly assassin.

This is a fantastic romance and one of the best books Ive read by LL, the emotion is powerful between risa and micah as is the romance as well as being very hot and steamy, i was so drawn into this story i wanted to read every word and paragraph and i didnt skim at all and i felt the emotion that the characters were feeling, i think this will be a book i will always remember forever..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2014
Well the 'Elite Ops' are getting to be one tough sexy outfit. These men are killing machines, ruthless and heartless (supposed to be lol).
But even the toughest soldier can fall one way or another.
Micah is special ops and his next mission will not only see him get his revenge it will get him a whole lot of trouble.
He's assigned to protect Risa (whom he's fallen in love with secretly). She'd been kidnapped and raped but her rapist is the man that destroyed Micah's family making this a mission impossible because no matter how hard he tries to separate it, Risa is his family now.
Risa wants to live and Micah is the only man that can chase away her demons.
Again very emotional and the passion was intense making this not only a romance but an excellent story.
Heat Seeker (Elite Ops)book 3
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2013
Another great book from Lora Leigh. I did find it a little slow to start with but once I got into the book I couldn't put it down. If your a fan of LL then you'll love this story. You can't help but fall in love with the characters. I can't wait to kind out if Jordan falls in love as he seams to be a little cold towards his team members who find love. I'm just confused as to which order these books are in. It's written at the top of every page (Elite Ops,book 2) but the testimonials at the beginning of this book state it's the first book in the new series...........
Any help please Author......confused!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2013
Lora Leigh weaves such a wonderful story.....other authors please take note ! This book has it all. Plenty of action and a romance that will bring tears to your eyes. All in all a first class read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2013
This book is amazing! It explain everything about the main character as specially as he features in all the elite ops series! Lora Leigh is an amazing author, One of my favourites!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2009
Lora Leigh delivers another fab book. The story is pitched just right between bit overboard & damn good romance. Believable relationship between Micah & Risa. Great follow on from Wild Card but also can stand alone. Just hope LL keeps on delivering
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here