Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
43
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£13.04+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 May 2014
An old favourite. So i re-read it through the eyes of my youth. One of the early urban fantasies. The first one I came across where a house is a character.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2014
I read this year's ago and 're-read it about 10 more times. I picked it up about fifteen years later and it is still magic. Couldn't put it down.
/
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 1999
After setting the book aside, I immediately wanted to construct the divination device mentioned in the book itself, and described in detail in the appendix to the book. Unfortunately, with so little time on my hands these days, I wont be able to do so immediately. Ah well, such is life.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2003
The mix of present day and past-times in this novel work superbly well. The characters are well drawn and intensley likeable or bitterly hateable.
Charles De Lint draws on Native American culture, ancient English tradition and modern Canadian life, and stirs them all into a suberb casserole of inventiveness.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2013
Moonheart is a brilliant book ( sorry i read it many years ago ) so it was like visiting an old friend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2008
First of all i have to confess that I only got about a third of the way into this book so maybe i shouldnt be reviewing it at all!! Fair enough. But just to warn any Robert Holdstock fans expecting this to be anything like MYTHAGO WOOD, as I was, be warned!! It doesnt have an ounce of it's depth. It looks very similar from the outside and the plot seems great and I think theres even a quote from Lavondyss, unless thats in another de lint book. Ive read some books by de lint that are great; the little country, onion girl, wild wood etc..This book starts off ok but the characters are just so 2 dimensional its hard to stick with it. It was at the point that some biker character said something like " lets go kick some ass!!" that i cringed then gave up the ghost. Nice cover though.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2017
This book got me hooked on Charles De Lint. His writing is superb!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
This is a lovely book. Really beautiful, I highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 1999
Moonheart is the first De Lint book I read, and I have been hooked ever since. It truly takes you into the character's adventure, and all of his books are really fun and exciting rides. The core of his writing is blending the real world with the fantasy world; one that is always just waiting to be found. And I love that he uses female leads so often. I eagerly await every new book and have made a mission to collect as many of his old ones as I can! He is the best!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2016
This is about the 10th time I have read this book, and was so glad to see it in kindle format. Charles de Lint is just about my favourite author. He sets fantasy in a contemporary urban environment and was doing this long before it became a popular genre.

He skillfully blends Celtic and native American Indian mythologies and has obviously researched these traditions so there are no jarring errors to spoil the read. His characters are so real you feel as if you know them and get heavily invested in them.

And what can I say - this book along with his others, is not just an excuse for pornography, wrapped up in the trappings of fantasy.

Moonheart brings the 2 traditions to life and you are bound to recognize some of the players - Grandmother Toad and Taliesin to name just 2. I don't want to spoil anything by delving into the storyline. I would recommend this book, and this author's other works, to anyone- even if you are not usually a fan of fantasy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£11.76
£13.18
£11.41

Need customer service? Click here