Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 January 2014
I've been reading Morse post Christmas and have enjoyed the previous books. This one is less interesting with long and quite boring passages that almost convinced me to give up. The crimes were confusing and the explanation for them, given in long testimonies was tedious . There was less of Oxford and more of the church than I care for. The only good point really is the fact that Morse seemed willing to lie on oath which gives an interesting insight into his character.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2016
The best bit of the Morse stories is Morse himself and his relationship with Lewis . Great characters. The plot in this is complex and really gets to the point where complex turns into silly and just plain daft. But its passable and great if your brain wants a work out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2014
The main characters are the church, Morse and Lewis. All others described perform out of character behaviours, do not stand out from the page as memorable or believable and leave the reader not caring if they are murdered or the murderer. Also homophobic in parts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
This is an excellent example of the detective genre, beautifully written and redolent with the atmosphere of the dreaming spires. I have read every one of them, and each has transfixed me with the eloquence of the writing and the depiction of the characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2014
Inspector Morse needs no recommendation from me. This book is set among the clergy and congregation of an Anglican church in Oxford. The setting and the people are well-realised and any Colin Dexter fan will find it 'a good read'
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2015
Well written fact gathering mission that proves to be as confusing and difficult to unravel as any saga involving misguided members of the human race. Interpreting the resulting misconceptions is Morse's forte!
Harast
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2016
Great read if your enjoy the murder mystery genre. Nice and easy to read, great storyline with many twists & turns, if you have read any of Colin Dexter's books in the past and enjoyed them you will not be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2014
I had not read a Morse book although had watched many of the TV series. I was surprised at how readily the characters portrayed by the actors in the series were supported by the book. Enjoyed the reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2015
Dexter had me guessing till the last I can still see John Thaw playing this part so admirably, this book had more twists than a fairground twister just couldn't put it down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2012
I bought this book (published in large print) for an elderly relative. She was delighted with the book and told me she would recommend it to anyone who loves crime.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse