Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
23
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
20
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£11.52+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 July 2017
Wonderful! A quirky, zany family filled with tremendous characters. A con man, stolen money, FBi, fraud and a man eater all come together in a delicious plot that will have you reeling with the twists and turns in this. Funny dialogue just adds to the enjoyment. I have the hard copy but it's now falling apart due to the number of times I have read this. A tremendous read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2002
One of my favourite characters in 'Welcome to Temptation' was Davy, (Sophie's brother), so I was so pleased that Crusie decided to write a story for him! This book is a must for all Crusie fans. Like all her other books, it's a beautiful love story, involving quirky characters, two lonely people, and of course - a dog! It's funny, touching and very sexy! Davy is an ex con man, who has spent his life trying to avoid 'settling down'. Tilda is an ex artist, who is trying to escape her past. Then they meet (in a closet!)and the sparks start to fly! I don't want to give anything else away! You MUST read this book! It's her best yet!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2004
Quite simply.. the best book I have ever read. Myself being 17 loved it like hell, and I am sure the older people out there will love it just as much. I was in Asda one day, as you are, and came across this in the book section funnily enough. I picked it up and read the back and thought.. hmm maybe not. My Mum however decided she wanted it to read on holiday. I decided to read a little of it when I got home to see what it was like. And from then on i was gone, i sat there all day, and a little of the night reading it, I just could not put it down. If you've read any of Jenny Crusie's other books, especially 'Welcome To Temptation as this is sort of a follow on of Davy's story, then you'll know what I mean by 'yes, another classic Crusie', if you don't however, you should definately read this if you love the fun, sarcastic, sexy and terribly amusing type of books. Simply marvellous!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2002
Loved it! Actaully I love all of Jennifer Cruises work, and this was no exception.
Faking It tells the story of Davy Dempsey (nice con artist and brother of Sophie & Amy from 'Welcome to Temptation') and Matilda (loveable and artistic forger)who meet in a closet whilst trying to burglarise the same house.
The only slight drawback in the continuation of the character Clea who I found very irratating in WTT and even more so here.
THis book is funny and sexy- buy it now!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2003
.... Quite simply, it's really, really funny. The showdown at the end, where half a dozen people are having half a dozen semi-connected conversations all at the same time all on different levels, is so hilarious I was nearly crying when I read it.
Tilda is an art faker (although that's not the only thing she fakes) and Davy is a conman. They meet in a closet and it sort of goes on from there. I love Crusie's characterisations, and her observations about relationships are spot on.
Plus, it really, really is just so damn funny!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2003
Being an existing fan of Ms Crusie's, I awaited this new release with some trepidation, having found some of her past works - well, good, but not necessarily keepers. However, in Faking It, Jennifer Crusie stays with the Dempseys from Temptation - Faking It is Davy's story, and it is very funny, with Crusie's distinctive style of writing, from the movie & song quotes, to the adopted mutt. This is not to say that Faking It is a complete rehash of several old books - it is saved from this by the very different characters she portrays. While there are some similarities, they are so affectionate and familiar, that you can't help loving Nadine & Gwennie, and Tilda is the perfect heroine for the not so straight Davy.
If you are a fan of JC's, buy this book. If you haven't read her work already, read Temptation first, then see if you can resist this one!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2005
Matilda Goodnight leads a predictably boring life recreating famous works of art on dining room walls for the rich. She supports her mom, sister and niece and therefore cannot afford to pursue her true passion of painting her own original works. However, Tilda's boring existence is turned upside down when she is forced to steal a painting from the home of a wealthy art collector so as not to expose a long time family secret. This is when she meets Davy Dempsey a professional thief who after one brief meeting in a dark closet is sure to turn Tilda's life upside down in more ways than she ever anticipated.
"FAKING IT" is charming and witty with a cast full of off the wall characters that will keep you wanting to read more.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2003
Fans of "Welcome to Temptation" will love "Faking It", if only because we catch up with many of the characters.
This is the story of Davy Dempsey, the deeply sexy brother of Sophie.
"Faking It" is an excellent book on it's own, not just as a "sequel" - Tilda is talented, quirky and thoroughly independant, as well as having a murky past life as an art forger, Davy is sexy, devious and trying to go straight, but keeps falling off the wagon.
Together with Tilda's funky family they hunt for missing paintings, avoid hitmen & bad sex to a inspired soundtrack (hmmm - I'd buy it if they released it!) this is just a great book, very funny, with Crusie's distinctive style. Just loved it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2004
I don't know where to start. This book was simply hilarious! I have read most of Jenny's books and I adored them all. They are witty, funny, clever, sexy and let's not forget really hot!
Tilda is a mural painter with a Secret. It's a big Secret and no one can know or her life and that of her family will be destroyed. It somehow involves... a painting.
Enter Davy, the lovable con artist from Welcome to Temptation. He really, really needs to get his hands on ... that self same painting. Now, Tilda thinks he's FBI, her mother thinks her new tenant is a hitman after Davy, Davy is confused, Tilda's sister has a problem that involves several personalities and ... well I can't really go into it, but it involves a closet, a clumsy caterer, Australia, Mussolini and some really scary shark teeth.
I particularly roared during the final confrontation. I think that's when I fell off the couch.
Really, try it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2006
I loved this book! Matilda is the kind of girl i'd love to be and davy is just the kind of guy i'd fall for! i just couldn't put it down... as someone with quite a short attention span i can honestly say this book keeps you riveted!! Really good sequel to Welcome to Temptation, another amazing read...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

£11.54
£11.35

Need customer service? Click here