Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
22
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 December 2013
This is the 5th Joe Ledger book I've read and I love the series as a whole. This entry into the series is a little slower than some of the earlier books, but I found it enjoyable enough.
The use of technology that is beyond state of the art and Mr Church's "friends in the industry" do get a bit of a hammering in this book, but not really at the expense of the story.
One review refers to Extinction Machine as being "slightly tongue in cheek" and thats exactly how I felt about it.
Zombies, Terrorists, genetic freaks, Vampires and Aliens, who can Joe go up against next?(Politicians and Bankers anyone?)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2015
The Joe Ledger series has done zombies, super soldiers and vampires and this time round it does aliens. Except the aliens don't actually ever appear. It's a story where aliens exist but it's more about the conspiracy side of things.

The president appears to have been abducted by aliens. There's a global arms race as nations across the world try to use alien technology to build weapons. Plus there's cyber attacks and Joe Ledger seems to being targeted personally. Just an ordinary day for the DMS...

This felt a lot more multi-layered than some of the other books in the series. Usually we pretty much just get what Joe is up to (fighting lots of bad guys) and what the big bad guys are up to but here there are more angles. It's also very much a DMS operation rather than simply a Joe Ledger operation- everyone is involved and the scale is huge.

There's something of an X-File feel to it, the massive conspiracy that the government is keeping the existence of aliens quiet (and building weapons from their technology). What I really liked about it is that there was lots of factual information packed into the conspiracy and that meant it was hard to tell where the facts end and the fiction begins. Maberry always does a really good job at making his outrageous plot lines as realistic as he possibly can.

The book sees lots more of Bug, because there's lots of research to be doing, Mr. Church showing a side of him we haven't really seen before and Ledger really being pushed to the limit. It has a particularly James Bond feel to it as times, especially when Ledger confronts the 'super-villain' in his house towards the end. Plus, there's an interesting new female character- although you can probably guess where that plot line is going.

My one reservation is bringing aliens into the DMS world. Everything in the series has been very science based, which is why the zombies and the vampires worked within it. The trouble is aliens are not supernatural and therefore can't be given a different science edge. It just seems a bit wrong to have aliens, especially this far into the series where it changes the tone a little. That said, I am really pleased that Maberry never had the aliens appear in person and ensured it was a very human story, just like in the previous books.

A slightly different direction for the series but one that I thought worked really well, despite my initial doubts about the concept. I would go as far as to say my favorite Joe Ledger book so far.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2013
If you like reading Joe Ledger books you will like this one. Better than Dragon Factory, not quite up to Pateient Zero. Really helps if you have read the other books in order & know the charecters - not that any of them are necessarily safe. Joe meets some very strange people, something weird happens with the President & the DMS has unfinished business with the VP. The details of the aliens are never made clear & thats a good thing to me - enough wierdness with humans using alien tech. If you like a realistic down to earth drama not the book for you, but if you like fast paced not too improbable stories with action & matial arts details that you end up reading half the night to see what happens give the series a try. As usual, the author gives his own unique view to themes like Roswell, Men in Black, alien abductions & government coverups. Continuing characters (including Ghost the dog) add to the reading pleasure. A lot of people die, Joe never emerges unscathed from his adventures, & I hope he is allowed to at least heal up & enjoy a brief holiday before the next relentless adventure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
Joe ledger kicks pass again, aliens and baddies,does seem to end quite quickly and I was left hoping to read how certain characters got there come uppance but things petered out. But a must read for Joe ledger fans
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2014
I've been ploughing through the Joe Ledger series at a phenomenal rate - having cleared up to and including this book in the series in about two weeks.

I found this book a bit weaker than the previous ones. Violin - leftover from the previous book - is essentially a throwaway character, and the story arc is substantially weaker than the previous books. The 2nd, 3rd, and 4th books were all pretty much on a par with the first one, but this was a bit of a step down in my opinion.

Still enjoyable, if you're this far in you know exactly what you're going to get, but a bit less enjoyable than the previous ones.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2014
I usually get through Jonathan Maberry's books within a fortnight. I finished this one in 5 days. If you've read the other novels then you know to expect high adrenaline fights and weird science. The best parts as always are the human reactions from Joe and the rest of Echo team. I always finish these books a bit more paranoid and this was no different. Patiently waiting for the next instalment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2013
Like the rest in the like of joe ledger novels starting right from the beginning of his recruitment into the DMS. This book takes on yet another "cliche" genre of baddy and makes me wish for yet another film with huge actors to play the heroes. I really do hope Hollywood picks these up to have a read one day and that I get to see a great quality film :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
Loved Patient Zero, but I have lost enthusiasm as the series has gone on. Too many interchangeable supporting characters, technology that isn't just cutting edge but is over the top and a little convenient (apparently there is nothing that cant be fixed with a "friend in the industry"). Not awful but the last Joe Ledger novel for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2014
Joe Ledger is an excellant character and in this book he doesn't fail to impress. Jonathan Maberry writes with a passion and knowledge that can be lacking in books about a special operations team.
The story is a great follow up and keeps you hanging.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2013
When are they going to make a Joe Ledger film. Its popcorn writing but Maberry is bloody good at it. Another great Ledger story to add to the list.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse