Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
24
The Companion
Format: Hardcover|Change


on 5 August 2017
Brilliant. Loved this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 April 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 March 2017
Now attempting to read the whole series. Love them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 September 2017
nice read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 November 2014
Seller recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 December 2007
Why are good books which sell well being re-released under different titles, thus deceiving readers/fans?

This is Rare Interest in corpses re-titled. This is unfair to Anne Perry's readers. I can't believe this is what she wants either.
22 Comments| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 July 2007
Be warned readers. This is the American name for a Rare Interest in Corpses. Make sure you do not buy two!
0Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 July 2006
I enjoyed Ann Granger's new offering very much. I was, at first, hesitant about the story being set in Victorian times but am now a complete convert and was very reluctant to leave 1864 as the book was coming to an end. The action starts immediately when we meet Lizzie Martin who arrives in London from Derbyshire to become companion to her late godfather's wealthy widow, Mrs Parry. Lizzie becomes entangled in the mystery of her predecessor's kidnap and murder. She meets again a figure from her past who also is involved in the investigation of the murder of Madeleine Hexham. Lizzie's feisty spirit is a joy to see in an era where repression of womankind is the norm and helps her through the many twists, turns, and characters she encounters till the identity of the murderer is finally uncovered. Ann Granger's excellent atmospheric descriptions take the reader on a unique journey in time to a London during Queen Victoria's reign in 1864, from the slums to the wealthy neighbourhoods, to the social and economical disparities of the class system, and the way people lived in those days in very basic circumstances and without modern conveniences. I found this a fascinating read. Well done M/s Granger!
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 December 2013
I'd read one of the later books without realising it was part of a series, so I was keen to read the first book. They can be read out of order, but A rare interest in corpses sets the scene very well for the later novels. I like the way Lizzie is portrayed as an independent minded woman who has to make her own way in life,however the author doesn't make the mistake of putting a modern character in the past and expecting it to be convincing. Lizzie still has to conform to the conventions of the Victorian era.
The plot is well thought out, and for me, the identity of the murderer came as a surprise. As as often the case with the first in the series, though, there was a lot about the earlier life of the characters, which although necessary, for me slowed the pace quite a bit.A great read, and if you like murder mysteries and are interested in history, give this a try.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 May 2009
The Companion has also been released as A Rare Interest In Corpses which can be misleading
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse