Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
50
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 August 2002
From childhood to truly disrespected and under-rated B-movie cult icon the book tracks Bruce's career realistically through his own eyes. No bluff or bluster, once you've read this you'll have an insight as to what kind of guys would want to make a movie trilogy like 'Evil Dead', what happens when the Suits and Money Men latch onto your ideas but insist on overruling your ethics and why the B-movie fraternity accept the roles that the Cruises and Hankses give such a wide berth to. Discover the joys and frustrations of the film and TV industries through the experiences of a bunch of guys from the flip side. I thoroughly enjoyed this and as long as you accept it in the 'spirit of Bruce' you will too. Hell, it made me laugh out loud, and I can't say that for many books.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2003
This book certainly won't win the booker prize (or any great literary awards) but it's none the worse for that. It's an entertaining read of broad interest - 'Deadites' will love all the inside info and anyone else should find a refreshingly down to earth appraisal of the entertainment industry. Basically, if you're into films it's well worth a read.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2003
Poor Bruce. He deserves a lot better than he gets don't you think? I think he is happy with his lot but now as his old school chum Sam hits the real big time with Spidey you can't help but feel sorry for Bruce, confined to self-confessed B-moviedom and cameos in his mate's blockbusters.
If you are an Evil Dead fan then this is why you are here reading this. The book is about Bruce, not Evil Dead but there is lots of ED in here too. The tone is witty, intelligent and has a wonderfully laid back attitude to it. If you want a flavour before you buy the book then go see his web site (easy to find via Google) and read his rambling monologues... then come back and buy the book.
This autobiography is top stuff, worth ten Bruce Forsyth autobiographies any day.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2002
quick warning folks-DO NOT start reading this book if you have anything of any importance to do over the next couple of days, you will not be able to stop reading this. i'm not enough of a campbell fan to know if it's really exhaustive but it covers a lot and, most importantly for me anyway, has pages and pages on the three evil dead films. a good, quick fun read with lots of black and white pics and a right laugh.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2001
2 BIG things became apparent whilst reading this book. If you want to how to become an actor (on the cheap) read this book. If you want to know how to make a short film (again, on the cheap) read this book.
You will NOT be disappointed - All you need is about 2 weeks of slow reading to understand why this guy is one of the most charismatic, and worshipped actors of his genre. His film/TV/series list just gets bigger and bigger. If you haven't seen any of his films (which can be hard - I must say) then, just look to any of Sam Raimis films - he props his head up in most. If you can stomach the blood and guts and chainsaws (grin), then have a flash at the Evil Dead Trillogy (Best on DVD for the commentary).
This is a MUST BUY book.....Buy it.....or elses.....
(I wish I could give it more than 5 Stars)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2001
Bruce Campbell outlines his life, starting with his childhood and moving through to present day. It's not crammed with detail but I found it an easier and more fluid read because of this. What we do have is a highly amusing and very interesting account of the authors experiences. There are some great anecdotes and there's no denying that Mr Campbell is passionate, determined and one hell of a hard worker! All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed it... what more can I say? :)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2010
I bought this to read about the man behind the myth that entertained during many youthful stoner sessions. I was expecting an exciting, rebellious read; I was slightly disappointed.

Reading this book is conceptually little different to reading the life story of an accountant or travelling salesman. Apart from the series of events culminating in the beginning of a moderately successful film career, which was mildly interesting; a lot of the book consists of mundane anecdotes which could happen to anyone. For example two pages describing childhood antics with toy soldiers. In another, presented as if it were some significant experience, a dog eats Bruce's hat.

So the jist is basically: Bruce has normal childhood, goes to school. Bruce meets geeky chums with a common interest in making films. Bruce and chums make some amateur budget films. Bruce and chums gather up some more cash to make better films (eg Evil Dead). Bruce gains enough success to drive the rest of his "mid grade" career. This plot skeleton is filled in with many anecdotes like those described in the last paragraph.

So four stars for the plot skeleton, one star just because it's Bruce Campbell, minus one for the filler and minus another for the writing style. Three stars.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 April 2007
Anyone at all interested in Bruce Campbell and the whole B-movie schtick needs to read this book. It's an entertaining read detailing the exploits of the man whom you'd think would be a lot richer and more famous than he actually appears to be. It details his life right from his early exploits and goes about as far as Bubba-Hotep, listing the ups and downs of the lower rent end of Hollywood. This man met Doug McClure, for heavens sake! It's no Lord of the Rings, but it's a must for B-movie fans everywhere and Bruce fans in particular. Score one for the nice guy doing his best in a tough world.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2012
A real revelation
As a huge Evil Dead Fan
and only a casual bruce campbell fan i had no idea about the man himself
i had a few half formed thoughts along the lines of "my god he'll star in anything or does he do childrens birthday partys?"
This book however goes into to detail about his passion for acting ,film making
his work behind the scenes all the stuff that bugs him about hollywood i.e. being full of people who dont know what thier doing and arbrtary laws laid down by suits when trying to create art.
He mentions his old friend Sam Raimi where his life and bruces intersect and the ardous filming of evil dead in a log cabin in the dead of winter in rural tenesse.
Ramii himself is kind of a mystery he is portrayed as having a brilliant technical mind for film making and wicked sense of humour and to my mind frequently behaves like a giant douche bag in the anecdotes bruce tells ,thats friendship for you.
He even talks about his relationship break down with his first wife his seemingly endless money troubles which led to him doing some less than stellar work .
The only niggle is of course this book was written about a decade ago and ends around the time hercules and xena were cancelled
the uk version does have an adendum on his chins book tour interupted by 9/11, mentions buba ho tep and a few other things
shame now i want to read the sequel
The hills have chins
chinsome wonder
the night has a thousand chins
Chinhard 2 - Chinharder
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2012
Bruce Campbell is the ultimate B movie actor. Here we have his autobiography of sorts.
I say of sorts because really this is essentially a run down of how a B movie actor gets
work and pitches his films to the studios.
It is therefore essential reading for any independent film makers out there.
Of course if watching films and not making them is your choice the book is still
essential reading. It's a very funny and intelligent book from a guy who has seen it all
in the sometimes seedy underbelly that is glitzy Hollywood.

My only disappointment came in the form of a paragraph dedicated to the excellent Bubba Ho Tep, yet the Evil Dead movies are mentioned on virtually every page. As good as they were this can be a little taxing.

However the fact that Campbell can devote a whole chapter on his book signing tour and make it lol interesting more than makes up for the slight faults.

Campbell is a groovy guy with super quick humour. This comes over well in this book. Go get it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)