Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 April 2017
One of the most inspirational and gripping books I have ever read. Gene Cernon's determination and love for what he did shines out of almost every page. Unlike others, I didn't find the balance of the book to be off-putting. Yes, the moon landing and exploration only occupy 40 odd pages, but in fact, everything else that happened to Gene led to that. In the end, Cernon was a unique man with a unique claim to fame.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2017
I purchased this book having seen the film of the same title, like the film it didn't disappoint. A incredible look at one of man-kinds greatest achievements, it's not always easy reading and at times your left feeling he didn't always respect his fellow astronauts however this was a time where men were men and their was no place for shirkers and the reader must bear this in mind while reading this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2017
I found this a really interesting insight into the daily routine and adrenalin fuelled experiences the astronauts found whilst breaking new ground.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2017
As described. Good service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2002
Eugene Cernan flew in space three times,twice to the moon. He was pilot of Gemini 9, Lunar module pilot of Apollo 10 and commander of Apollo 17. This is a book charting his missions and experiences from the early days of Gemini to the ultimate goal of landing on the moon. Bieng the last person to step foot on the surface.
It's one hell of a book! exiting and well written. Another book you won't be able to put down.
Only downside, picked up by other readers, is the lack of pictures from the missions and especially the final landing.
I didn't buy the book for the pictures. If you want pictures buy "A MAN ON THE MOON" the 3 volume set,but i'm not reviewing that. If you want a truly exiting,wild ride of book buy this one!!!!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2000
Forget the "attacks" on some other astronauts (and in my reading I found no attack on Jack Schmitt, quite the opposite). Forget just wanting to read about Apollo. DO read this book for a personal and honest account of how one man felt and how he journeyed from his roots to another world.
I grew up watching the space race from the UK and this account of it from the inside strikes true. I have read some other readers comments, who seem to think it was Captain Cernan's job to agree with them rather than say how he felt. I don't understand their desire for this.
I don't care that the author didn't get on with some of his colleagues - I don't get on with some of mine! For a truly genuine and exciting read, telling it from the heart and not from the populist point of view I have read little better about the USA space programme.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2006
Up there with the Michael Collins biography as one of the best astronaut books, this first-person tale of Gene Cernan's NASA career engages not least because of the drama of his three famous missions.
Co-author Davis has helped Cernan tell a complicated story in easy to understand language. Throughout, one picks up on the sheer enthusiasm of this astronaut: his awe and wonder at what he was lucky enough to do. Often self-depracating, he admits difficult moments - the horror of the spacewalk outside Gemini 9 and the frightening malfunction as he approached closer to the Moon than anyone before during Apollo 10, but conveys extremely well the controlled elation of the triumphant Apollo 17, including his and mankind's last steps on the Moon ... for now.
There are thirty-seven photos, the usual mix of family and space-related, the latter set containing little new for the Apollo enthusiast but no less relevant for that.
Do give this book a try. It's clear, interesting and bubbling over with enthusiasm.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2016
Loved this book. Excellent insight and information. Well written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 1999
Gene Cernan is one of America's most experienced and successful astronauts. His three missions were among the most ambitious, successful and exciting of all time. He spent more time, along with partner Harrison Schmitt, than any other man walking on the moon. It was, therefore, with great disappointment that I read this book. What I expect from a book by an astronaut is to really feel and understand what the unique experiences they went through were like. With the notable exception of Mike Collins' autobiography almost none of the astronauts books really provide this. Only 12 men have ever stood on the moon and yet they have not really conveyed what this and other aspects of spaceflight were like in their autobiographies. His dismisses his epic Apollo 17 flight in a few pages and spends more time talking about the politics of crew selection, giving crude descriptions of his wife's figure and other trivia. Also there is a lack of illustrations showing the alien environment he explored so well. In a more positive light, he reveals for the first time the real dangers the Gemini spacewalks entailed and gives a good description of the problems Ed White encountered in Gemini 4 and his own nightmarish experience in Gemini 9.
33 Comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2001
No knocking Gene Cernan, his raw guts, determinantion and bravery shine through. Probably the most "human" account of the Apollo flights I've read to date. For me, as a working scientist, most telling is the clear gulf between the "Jet Jocks" and the scientists. Cernans comment about Deke Slayton fighting tooth and nail to try and keep the scentists off the missions is very revealing. This attitude probably helped put the nails in the coffin of missions 18 to 20 as it certainly would have alienated support in the wider scientific community.
A recommended read!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse