Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's


on 1 June 2011
The best deal for anyone in search for a faithful copy of the 1611 King James Version at a bargain price. A warning: it does not contain the Apocrypha (like the Jewish canon), and retains the antiquated Gothic or "black letter" font. This is done in order to provide the beauty of the black letter and at the same time to keep the book to a manageable size. The use of the antiquated black letter font was intended to add status and authority to the 1611 version. Highly recommended!!!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2011
This is a beautiful, astoundingly affordable, replica of the first edition 1611 King James Bible.

Despite the AMAZINGLY low price, this is substantially-sized, and quite sturdily made (solid board binding with standard Bible paper). This does not contain the apocrypha, which was included in the original, and is (thankfully?) reduced from the original 16" x 12" to a more manageable 20.6 x 14.5 x 7.6 cm. In terms of content, however, these are both minor differences - especially at the asking price - the main text remains a digitally remastered replica of the original first edition - complete with beautiful genealogy charts etc.

In short, this is a wonderful way to see a piece of history 400 years after it was first printed - for less than the cost of a take-away meal!
I am so pleased with my own copy that I've bought SEVEN more copies to give as gifts!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2011
A fantastic, value for money piece of 17th century church treasure, replicated for all of us to own for less than the cost of a fish & chip supper, 1611 edition replicas have always existed on the Market but even the lowest costing one can set you back over £100 and other reprints are just not true reprints, this excellent quality budget reprint retains the 'olde' English typesetting, the fascinating pages of genealogy charts, the only thing missing is the collection of books and fragments called Apocrypha, which the church authorities always cast doubt over, within 150 years these books vanished completely from the bible, if you have never heard of the Apocrypha and don't know what it is you won't notice anything missing, so open the cover and step back 400 years into 17th century England
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2013
This is easily one of my favourite Bibles. It is very hard to find a facsimile of the original KJV (Authorised Version). This one is affordable and very well executed. It is in a compact harback format, handy to store and carry. However, the text is also very clear and a good size. This is partly because it is very dark, yet there is no bleed through. The text is the original gothic type, which takes only a very little getting used to before it becomes very readable (and a pleasure to read). It is of course also in the original spelling which may also take a little getting used to. However, if you are comfortable with the language of Milton, Shakespeare and Bunyan, then this is a most delightful book. The only drawback is that it does not include the Apocrypha (included in all original versions of this Bible) for reasons of size.

This is of course the original 1611 text, which makes this an important historical document. There have been several rather minor revisions to the text to create the KJV that is widely read today.

As far as the KJV itself, which has recently been usurped in Churches by less literary (and often more interpretive *cough* NIV) modern versions: As well as being very literal, this is of course also one of the most literary translations of the Bible in any language. It is a pleasure to read and the language is actually often simpler and easier to understand than in modern translations. Of course some of the grammar and words are archaic, but that is not too difficult to get around. The use of "thee", "thou" &c., was actually archaic when this was written, but were employed to maintain a distinction in the original texts that cannot be rendered in modern English. This version is also part of our heritage and quoted in many common expressions and other works of literature. Although earlier original manuscripts have been discovered since this translation was made, IMO their only major contribution has been to show that a few passages appear to be later additions to the text. These are usually bracketed in modern translations.

Of course, I don't full submit to the King James only Brigade. The most laughable arguments I have heard are from American's: one claimed that only this version was divinely inspired, because only the first and original translation into any language was divinely guided. Now surely that would make the Wycliffe version the only viable option for that misguided reviewer. Another, claimed it was superior because it was the first translation from the original tongues (Hebrew & Greek), rather than the Latin Vulgate. Errr. anyone remember the Geneva Bible used by Shakespeare, Bunyan et al?!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2013
I am happy I have purchased the oldest edition of the KJV Bible. I have truly seen a difference from the 1611 to the current bible in the manner of use of language, set of the bible and display. As the font is much different and terminology, I have found it key to have in also checking if much changes have been made. Also to note the words used in the current bible that are published have different words that have been inserted which may give a different meaning to how it was interpreted or how one may interpret the scripture. Overall I am happy I have this edition and recommend to others
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2013
Very fast delivery and beautiful bible has all the old diagrams and old gothic writing and the old english language some of the letters look very different but still readable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2012
My partner has been after this version for years with all the original wording in, the book is exactly what he wanted and arrived in just over 2 weeks, pretty quick as it was shipped from the US to UK.
Really good for the price I paid and in perfect condition. He is thrilled with it - now I just have to try and get him to put it down for a minute!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2011
Bought this as a Christmas present for my wife after reading a number of reviews. Its a really nice piece, arrived slowly but in very good condition. She has now placed it in a position so everyone can read it. Will probably by more when possible.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2016
This was a Christmas present for my husband. He was delighted with its condition, the care shown in wrapping & shipping, and the clarity of the text.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2011
This facsimile reproduction of the Holy Bible is, in itself, very well done. But the Holy Scripture is the Word of the one true and living God which is able to make a man wise unto salvation. Dear reader: you get a copy and read it, it is more precious than gold which perisheth. This is the Word of God which shall last forever.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)