Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
22
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 January 2012
We bought this as a gift for someone else, guessing it might be a good read, but immediately after dipping in, we read it ourselves without stopping, and ended up buying two more so we could give another one and keep a copy for home. Entirely energising for life in an age when we take a lot for granted, and feel we need to hone our priorities. Jose Henriques is a man who we feel we meet through his book in comfortable, humble, and inspiring conversation as we read. It is not surprising the men in the mine looked to him as one who could help them hold together in unity for the long weeks they spent deep under the earth.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2012
This is an amazing true story of survival through a man's faith, belief and leadership. A lifesaving miracle from God. A book to be read by everyone whether you have a faith or not. It will certainly give you strength when things are tough.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2012
A good personal record of the author's experiences and understanding. Book is short but compact and a bit different to what I was expecting but I have used aspects of it within a sermon, which was very effective.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2012
Wow, what an account of total resolve and Christian witness. We all hope we would behave in a good way if we were in really bad circumstances. Here we have an account of just that - praise the Lord!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2012
This truly is a wonderful book. I took it on holiday with me and couldn't put it down.
The story is truly amazing about a man who's faith in God was such that each of the buried miners was touched by God with most of them having a life changing experience.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2013
A very good book certainly a miracle happened in the mine. I really recommend it, it is a good read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
Inspiring, encouraging and challenging book for me as a Christian. It is a very honest book showing God's miracles for the 33 in the mine and how Jose's life changed afterwards. If you doubt miracles happen, read this book! It is an easy read and amazing how one man was able to have the strength to help guide the other men through such a terrible ordeal. If you have any doubts about reading it, I say just read it for yourself and see!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2012
Enjoyed reading the book although it was clearly a translation from the original language. It is wonderful that the men appreciated that God was sovereign in their rescue and that the men who effected it were only instruments in His hands,
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2011
Again this book is a Christmas gift but I am really looking forward to reading it also as it is a wonderful witness of God's love and each miner as he was freed showed a thankfulness to God.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
This is an inspiring and moving book telling the true story of how one man's faith gave confidence and encouragement to others who were trapped. A situation which could have been hopeless was lightened by the spirit of optimism and discipline which prevailed. The presence of another miner was felt, as many became aware of God's protection. The book is no literary masterpiece, but is an honest portrayal of dark days and a happy ending.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)