Shop Women's Shop Men's Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
165
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 January 2002
Although not a work of great literary merit, the content of this book ensures that the reader grows to care about the people within its pages. It tells of extraordinary events in a quite matter-of-fact way. No screaming from the rooftops, no dancing in the aisles, just a quiet little tale of how faith can make huge changes to the lives if those who have it, are embraced by it, or who simply read about it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2012
The true story of Pastor David Wilkerson' transformational ministry that changed the streets of New York during the 1950's.
Inspired by a magazine article featuring a group of young boys charged with murder over a drugs related issue,,Pastor Wilkerson felt God directing him to create a ministry that would help the young of the city,trapped in the destructive world of drug addiction.With the help of many others with the same desire to help the lost, an organization called'Teen Challenge' was established,leading to an incredibly powerful and effective ministry.
As a result many young lives were transformed and restored,leaving many to testify as to the life changing power of the Holy Spirit and to begin a life which reflected their new found deliverance.
This book contains some wonderful testimonies of those most affected and is a truly inspirational read.I highly recommend this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2016
Anybody seeking to know the truth should read this book. It is about personal experience, and, I would say, unique. Years ago, it really helped me when initially seeking after truth as a young person. DO READ THIS, even if you are not an avid reader - it will affect the course of your life.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2015
Bought this book again as I need to keep a copy for me.
All previous copies given away. (lent out and not returned)
I understand this book is now read in senior schools.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2012
This true story is inspirational. I have read it several times and I am challenged and inspired every time. I would highly recommend this book, it is compelling reading.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2015
Absolute classic full of inspiration. This book should not be read merely as a record of events but rather as a textbook to provide guidance on how vision emerges, develops and then works itself out. What Wilkerson did in these pages was to teach how working with the Holy Spirit provides the best basis for mission because it is not so much about what we can achieve when we walk with Jesus, but rather what Jesus can achieve when we walk with Him. A great story, regardless of age, this should not only be on ones shelf but rather pulled through by hand.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2016
One of the most remarkable stories of recent times. Will amaze and cause even the most sceptical reader to stop and think. Worth a read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2012
Quick and easy purchase, would recommend you going to these people for books,
The book is and excellent read well worth getting.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2016
Written in the 50s but oh so relevant for today. A brilliant account of God's hand at work as the Holy Spirit guides pastor David Wilkerson to work with the street gangs in New York. He sees many of these violent and immoral young men changed beyond recognition as they hand their lives over to Jesus and let the Holy Spirit enter and control their lives. If God could do this back then in the US he can do it again today among the young addicts in the UK.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2012
I first learned about David Wilkerson when I was in secondary school and it had an impact on me that stayed with me. Unfortunately I followed a path that ignored the existence of God, but thankfully found the amazing and transforming power of Jesus 3 years ago.
Reading this with fresh eyes now I am reborn, is utterly amazing and I thank the Lord for the message that David and Nicky bring to the world.
Thank you Lord for these signs and wonders!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.99

Need customer service? Click here