Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 4 April 2017
One of my personal favorites as a christian book. it is wonderful really worth the read. By the end of the book you will see that JESUS is who he said he is absolutely wonderful. If your a non Christian by the end i hope and pray you will also see that JESUS is who he is the saviour of the world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 January 2016
Well worth a read for anyone curious with how Jesus may have existed. Check out all Strobel's books. They are fascinating for atheists and believers alike!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 April 2015
Super book- Strobel deals with the criticisms from around the 90's onwards regarding the reliability of the New Testament and criticisms as to the usefulness and accuracy of its portrayal of Jesus. Experts are quizzed and helpful responses are given. All in the easy and accessible Lee Strobel style. Buy it and read it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 November 2017
Excellent book, it refutes weak arguments from new age atheists and agnostics and shows strong evidence for the historical Jesus.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 May 2015
Lee at his best dealing with real questions, providing insight and real evidence to discredit as unfounded some recent theories surrounding the essence of Christian belief.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 February 2016
happy with purchase thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 August 2007
The Case for the real Jesus
By Lee Strobel
Pre release copy.
Before I became a Christian (in 2005) I used to read all the books that agreed with what I then believed. You know the ones, the Richard Dawkins types. Then I thought, "Hmmm, I've read loads of evidence AGAINST religion, why don't I read some evidence for it. That should be funny!" I simply thought that an intelligent case for ANY religion was impossible. So I looked at all the major faiths, Islam, Buddhism, Hindu and even the Jehovah's witness', Judaism and then finally Christianity. I discovered that when one is able to take on board the evidence from both sides, then and only then can one reach a fair conclusion.

The Case for the real Jesus is a book that offers a fair and intelligent look at evidence both for and against the real Jesus. It quite easily dispels a lot of the myths surrounding Jesus, His life and His teachings. It even points out a few "error's" within the Bible and explains how and why they are there.

It looks into the claims of popular fiction authors, such as Dan Brown with his Da Vinci Code and quite easily lays those fictitious claims to rest.

This is a book I couldn't put down. I thrilled whilst reading every page, experiencing dozens of, what I call "A-Haaa!" moments.

Lee interviews several experts on the subjects raised within the book, he asks the difficult questions that I used to throw at Christians. He doesn't let these experts off easily, and they make their case wonderfully.

This book will help any Christian solidify their faith, and let non-Christians read the "True" evidence about Christ. The great thing about this book is that whilst explaining how and why some of the popular myths are propagated in today's society, it explains away those very myths quite easily.

Obviously there will always be bigots (like I was-look up the meaning of Bigot!!) that will still refuse to accept what is plainly there for them to see, instead they will only see the evidence that leads to the conclusion they want...& not the truth.

I loved this book and the way it opened my eyes to details I wasn't even aware of.

This is Lee's best book to date...in my opinion.
A great read.
Daniel L Potts. (UK)
33 Comments| 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 July 2008
The book is very good but a little hard to read at times -- there's so much information. Lee Strobel's reading of his own book makes the material come to life. With the help of experts in the field he debunks the sceptical rubbish that has been written about Jesus. A great help in affirming my faith in the face of all the popular distractions that are being published. There are nine CDs in the box -- the reading is unabridged.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 March 2013
One for the converted faithful not for an agnostic with a questioning mind seeking real proof - bit too self-serving to provide that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 April 2010
"So when the centurion and those with him, who were guarding Jesus, saw the earthquake and the things that had happened, they feared greatly, saying, 'Truly this was the Son of God!'" -- Matthew 27:54 (NKJV)

I developed an interest in reading this book after hearing Lee Strobel preach at Calvary Chapel in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, a few weeks ago. He presented a lot of background information about Jesus that was new to me, and I decided I wanted to learn more.

I believe that you will gain the most benefit from The Case for the Real Jesus if you first read Lee Strobel's earlier book, The Case for Christ. The facts and arguments in The Case for the Real Jesus are often connected to material in The Case for Christ.

In the interest of helping you figure out if this is a book you want to read, I suggest you begin by taking a look at pages 266-267 where the key issues addressed in the book are summarized.

The book considers these challenges that have been frequently raised in the public press during recent years:

1. "Scholars are uncovering a radically different Jesus in ancient documents just as credible as the four Gospels."

2. "The Bible's portrait of Jesus cannot be trusted because the church tampered with the text."

3. "New explanations have refuted Jesus' resurrection."

4. "Christianity's beliefs about Jesus were copied from pagan religions."

5. "Jesus was an imposter who failed to fulfill the Messianic prophecies."

6. "People should be free to pick and choose what to believe about Jesus."

Each section basically follows the format of finding one of these six challenges, documenting who made the claim and what the claim was based on, locating an expert in that area, and asking the expert to comment on the claim.

You may find that format a little restrictive for getting all of your questions answered. I think you'll find that reading this book is a little like getting an appetizer-sized portion of the information. It would have been much more interesting if Mr. Strobel had arranged for those who made these claims to debate the "expert" who was interviewed and then reported on the give-and-take. The book is filled with references, however, so you'll have an easy time tracking down the original claim and what others have written on the subject. I believe there's enough here to lead you to the information you are looking for to make up your mind from what the sources say or suggest and your heart tells you.

If you are a graduate-level theology student, this material will be too simple for you. If you are just an average person who wants to understand more about what scholars are disagreeing about, you'll probably find that you will get enough information in many areas to satisfy your curiosity.

I feel that people should know why they believe what they believe. The historical record about Jesus' life through the ascension into heaven is richer than is typically the case for events that happened almost two thousand years ago, and I think most people who want to know more about Jesus will be glad they became more familiar with the sources and how they were developed and analyzed.

May God bless you, your family, and all you do in the name of Jesus!
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)