Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 November 2014
Christmas Present for the star wars geek in my family. Went down a treat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 28 December 2011
I bought this along with the Collectors Edition yesterday and I was very disappointed. Unlike the World of Warcraft manuals that first came out this basically doesn't help at all. There's about 8 pages dedicated to the various classes you can become with a few very basic tips on each class. There's another dozen or so pages with some concept art and the rest of the book is maps. Great !!!! you might think. Ummm no. You see SWTOR has actually got the ingame maps etc totally sorted. SWTOR is basically where WOW is now with full in game icons and highlighted quest givers, quest targets etc. all highlighted on the map. So the book maps are pointless EXCEPT for one thing. There are DATACRONS in the game which basically improve your base stats like STRENGTH +2 or Endurance. These will become important if you are looking to max your toon out in abilities. The location of the DATACRONS are marked on the maps. This is the only thing the book is good for. I would think long and hard about this. You could wait and I'm sure someone will post the Datacron locations up on google or you can pay for this weighty tome and find them this way.
The only other reason I can think of for buying this book is to collect memorabilia.

Hence the 2 stars. Virtually useless book.
22 Comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2012
What a useless product. No wonder it was sealed in the shop so one could not open it. As if there were some terribly exciting secrets hidden inside. But there aren't.

The character/class information is a joke! As is the rest.

A cheap product, clunky and useless.

Do not buy!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2012
like my description this really isnt the greatest purchase. Hit your M key and save on postage. Such a shame because a proper manual for this game would have been great as there is not one included in the game box.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
I like this book, its full of maps helpful details, and lovely artwork looks good on my computer desk. If you need help for the game this is what you need, Yes its not one of those hold your hands and guild you from A to B to get to C. Which is good as you don't want one of those the game would be boring.

This is a decent guide for finding Datacrons and shows the locations of vendors and NPC's mission and quest givers.

The included artwork pages are a nice addition in this guide book, making it a little more unique to a SWTOR collector, as these pictures are not included in the collectors edition of the game.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2012
This book claims that it has information on Datacron locations and a guide to character classes.
It is in fact, a jumped up map book.
Almost every page is just a basic mini map blown up with icons for vendors, taxis, and enemies. When it comes to datacrons, all that is shown, is a small square on the map with a number relating to its attribute. No details of how to get to them or screenshots of locations, or anything vaguely helpful.

It has no information on companions apart from in the character class 'section' which is a page of information on each class that is incredibly patronizing and only states the very obvious; such as 'Bounty Hunters can wear heavy armor.' ..Thanks for that, you're not telling me anything that the character creation screen hasn't done so already.

Even the exclusive concept art in the back is only concept sketches that look awful and hardly related to the game at all.

I love SWTOR and couldn't wait to get this. It took me about 2 minutes of flipping through to realize I would have been better off buying an unofficial iphone App for £1. I will be purchasing the SWTOR encyclopedia on here next as a one page screenshot of the inside has more info than this does.

Even if you're a collector, don't bother.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2012
A nice book for the avid SWTOR game player in need of a little help, detailed pictures of every area currently known, although missing some very secret areas only recently released on the official forums, This is a decent guide for finding Datacrons and shows the locations of vendors and NPC's

The included artwork pages are a nice addition in this guide book, making it a little more unique to a SWTOR collector, as these pictures are not included in the collectors edition of the game.

3 out of 5 stars, only due to the nature of the game and not a failing of the guide book, the guide will be out of date and missing a lott of detail in the months / years to come as the game getts updated.
Use this, along with fan webpages to get a better head start in the game.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2012
This product is not the best guide out there, it has the maps for all the planets and locations of Datacrons(but not how to reach them!)Mob areas and thier levels. It does exactly what it says, it is an explorers guide not a 'how to do everything' guide like most seem to have been expecting.
The class descriptions are brief but when first starting it they are quite useful as they stat which stats for each should be boosted.
The concept artwork in the book is fabulous and is a nice touch at the end of the book.

Do you need this book to enjoy the game... no, but then if your buying guide you already know these things are created to enhance your experience of the game world, which this does.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2012
Maps provided in the game are better, this is a quick cash in with no real value. Hopefully we'll see a better guide soon.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2013
I bought this book before the game even went live and was pleased with all of the information contained within it. However since the game has been live, the amount of info on the net that is available for free makes this book less useful.

Some nice artwork throughout the book though - worth buying for that - if artwork is your thing!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)