Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 June 2017
A good read that will make you have a long hard look at how you live. The author made the subject matter really interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 6 February 2015
This is an excellent book with fascinating and very helpful information. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it and learning with it.
The word "diet" comes from the Greek or Latin and means something like "way of living". This concept is essential to understand what a paleo diet is. Many people do one of those traditional diets, suffer through it, lose weight but then go back to old habits and put everything, when not more, back again.

This book shows, in detail, all things you can do create new and healthier habits instead of just going through a traditional diet that deals only with food and drink. The book has information about eating but don't expect the whole book to be about food because it's not. It also doesn't have recipes (thanks God for that).

The book has lots of good information about sleeping, cold and hot environment and their influence on your health, what to eat and what not eat, exercise and so on.

The text is light and humorous, sometimes too humorous. The only thing I didn't like about this book is in chapter 10, "movement". As a matter of fact, I almost gave up reading the book when I read the author praising those televised fights in cages, where two idiots beat each other to a pulp. He also has a very wrong idea of karate, which I know well. Or , at least, knew... You see there? What are cage fights doing in a book about health?

But the silliness of part of chapter 10 is balanced by the fact that the author is not restricted by political correctness, what is a rare thing when one reads a book coming from that side of the ocean.

The author also overdoes when he mentions barefoot running. It is correct that our ancestors ran barefoot and this should be the more natural way of running, without sneakers. But it also correct that our ancestors didn't run on tarmac or other hard, artificial surfaces as they didn't exist yet...

But the silliness is present in just a small part of the book. Most of it is good, solid, interesting information. If you are curious about the paleo diet and is considering to give it a try then do yourself a favour: Read this book. It is the best book about paleo diet out there. That is, considering diet as a way of living, not just guidelines about eating and drinking. If you want more information about food then order "Perfect Health Diet", by the Jaminets, as well. Their book is a perfect complement to this book and vice versa.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2015
Good delivery time n good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2013
I was excited about receiving this book as the Paleo movement could do with a more serious look under the hood; something to go beyond the self help book format. The Paleo Manifesto starts strongly and Part One has some interesting observations, particularly those concerning gorillas in captivity and Durant's meeting with Dr Lieberman at the Peabody Museum.
From here the book deteriorates. The section on the Old Testament is interesting, but the point is over-laboured (this is a recurrent feature and the editor must share some of the blame). Parts of it, such as the deer hunt story, are extremely boring and leave the reader with nothing new. The rant against vegetarianism goes on for pages and pages (17 to be exact) and again fails to conclude anything interesting. I doubt many vegetarians will be reading this book. His chapter on exercise is a thinly disguised marketing plug for Crossfit and again he doesn't bring any original thinking to this topic.
The book is confusing, its too long considering the amount of actual content and its full of quips that read like in-jokes. It seems that just writing a book with "paleo" in the title is enough to boost sales, which is a shame, as these are topics that would benefit from a more serious appraisal.
11 Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
if you're interested in the paleo lifestyle and have read other books on the subject but want more depth then this is the book for you. you can tell that John Durant is from an academic background by the depth of his research and the massive amount of referencing he does. he's not a paleo nazi unlike some others who write/blog on the subject and states that this is not another diet book. if you want to eat dairy, eat dairy. the principles are explained and also the scientific reasoning behind them. his writing on the other aspects of the lifestyle, crossfit, barefoot running and sustainable agriculture are also excellent. i don't know a great deal about crossfit but the barefoot running chapter is like a condensed version of the excellent born to run book by christopher mcDougall. in summary; not a lightweight skim through page turner but all the better for it. i would highly reccommend it!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2013
I have read Rob Wolffs "Paleo Solution" and Mark Sissons "Primal Blueprint". Both of these are excellent books but I found myself at times, feeling like I wanted certain chapters to end as they were a bit dry and repetitive. This book however was very accessible and I powered through it at quite a pace. Durant is not a Paleo purist. His manifesto resembles a primal diet approach more than Paleo. I especially enjoyed the chapters on fasting and "Thermoregulation". I don't agree with Durants views on running for fitness, whether it is barefoot or whatever but that's what he is into so fair enough. Buy this if you want an easy approach to primal/paleo living and eating.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2013
I really enjoyed this. it's not a recipe book or a regurgitation of the paleo way or other well written books out there such as Rob Wolf's Paleo Solution, Mark Sisson's or Paul Jaminet's books that are all excellent too. It steps back and gives a really interesting historical and cultural overview. Recommended (I would also read those other books if you are looking for good health too :-)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2013
A human history. Really makes you think. Absolutely a book everybody should read. Made me think new about a great deal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2016
Excellent service delivered on time. Love the book great condition all as described. Will use again. Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2017
Good information but could do without the rant against vegetarianism at the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)