Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 6 March 2017
A good read, but nothing really outstanding. A lot of the points he discusses are fairly interesting to review and reassess with the benefit of hindsight and this extra insight, but still some decisions he made and the explanations given come across as being quite weak, particularly the management of Katrina.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 January 2017
This is a beautifully written book, a real page turner, and has certainly improved
my take on George W Bush. Then again, it is SO well written that it does make me think twice about taking absolutely everything the former President says - and doesn't say - completely at face value.

It's a great read, though.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 July 2013
I freely admit I was not a big fan of President G W Bush but having listened to the audio book I decided to read the full book and I realised how much i had been influenced by the media, that he was a bit of a prat and not very bright etc and i found myself changing my mind about him, he starts by telling how quitting drinking put him on the path to the presidency and then explains the decisions he made, he truly believes in what he did at the time was in the best interests of his country, he does express regret on some of his decisions ie Katrina. His decisions will be debated by others for years to come but he has made me rethink my view of him and I now think of him in a far better light than before.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 September 2015
Excellent insight into a very critical juncture in US politics. Bush is often heavily criticised, however fundamentally when one gets to delve into his mind at critical moments such as in the aftermath of 9/11 a certain level of clarity in his decision making is clearly evident. Concurrently he accepts his failures in the handling of resources in the days following hurricane Katrina.
Moreover, one is given insight to the neocon influence in the Bush43's administration as he speaks of the influence individuals like Paul Wolfiitz had on decision making.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 May 2013
Had to order twice as my first order somehow got lost in the Bit ether so had to reorder it; Ordered it during Christmas time, but heavy snowing in UK meant it missed the delivery dead line and both the orders turned up (the First one after a month) so went online and returned the book and got the refund.
Very happy with Amazon's system, generally try to look if the seller is Amazon because of the reliability
As for the Book
Good read for people to understand the most controversial US president, recommend for people in leader ship positions, some of it for what to do and some of it for what not t do ;)
All in all a good book Read this book,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 July 2011
This book is well-written and embodies a fresh approach to organising the narrative. The prose is simple and lucid but never dull. The discussions of some major issues of recent history are enlightening -- particularly so for being presented as part of a decision-making process.

The President's devotion to his country and the warm interest of this strong family man in the people whom he met shine out from every page.

The book contains numerous photographs and an extensive index. It's a high quality product and it works well on a Kindle. I very much enjoyed reading it and I heartily recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 August 2016
A remarkably honest book right from the outset. The unconventional structure works well but there could be a bit more consistency in the amount of time spent on each part of the decision in question. Some decision arcs were front-heavy and spent a lot of time dealing with the background thinking whilst others focused much more on the heat of the decision making itself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 March 2017
I don't read a lot of history and biographies. This is by far the best I have read in a decade, it is simple, clear and well structured. It is simply a brilliant book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 July 2017
Really enjoyed it. Very interesting book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 December 2016
Good overview of the 10 most critical decisions in the Bush junior era and the underlying philosophy behind the decisions. Well written and to the point
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

My Life
£14.59

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)