Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
12
4.1 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 March 2008
I have just been lent the Cathedral of the Sea (La catedral del mar) by Ildefonso Falcones, and I haven't been able to put it down since. Magnificent, intoxicating - although simple in style the story is simply captivating. From the very first chapter you are brutally introduced to the ways of medieval Barcelona and Catalunya. You follow a tale of father and son as they struggle from slavery through diseases, war and noblemen conspiracies never loosing hope. Fate, love, money and Inquisition fight each other for power, while in the background the Santa Maria del Mar Cathedral is slowly built by the 'people' of Barcelona.
This book is a keeper.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2015
Leí la mitad y tuve que abandonar, en contra de mis principios de una vez empezado un libro, hasta final.
Este señor sabe muchísimo sobre leyes y formas de vida de la Barcelona feudal. Vale. Pero la trama de la historia es flojita. La idea original podría funcionar, pero según se desarrolla la novela uno tiene a menudo la impresión de que no es mas que una excusa para lucir los grandes conocimientos de historia del autor. Los personajes tienen poca credibilidad y poca profundidad. Hay personajes que aparecen o desaparecen y uno no tiene forma de saber si tienen mucha o poca importancia en el argumento. El estilo de los diálogos cae a veces en lo ñoño que se estilaba en los cuarenta, pero ni siquiera se puede recomendar como lectura a nuestra abuela, porque eso si: para engolosinar al lector moderno el autor cuelga un cebo de sexo al principio.
Y además utiliza mas adelante dos incorrecciones 'modernas'. Una: la palabra 'escuchar' por 'oír '. Otra, la palabra 'morbo' por 'morbosidad'.
En mi opinión, un proyecto ambicioso, bien documentado en la base, pero mal ejecutado.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2007
I've just read this in Spanish and can't wait for it to be released in English so that everyone I know can read this truly sublime book. Falcones takes the reader deep into the heart of the dark ages to follow the story of a father and son who capture your imagination and draw you into their world in which you too want them to succeed. The writing is beautiful, the descriptions of Barcelona and Catalunya captivating, although the characters are set during this poverty stricken, violent, disease ridden era there is a tremendous sense of hope and joy.
Make sure you pre order this book now....you will re-read it many times. It's a bookshelf treasure.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2008
I bought this novel in 2005 in Valencia where I was on holiday - it had just been published. However, the copy I acquired had several pages missing and so I was, at the time, unable to finish it. Recently, upon complaining, the publishers sent me a complete new copy free of charge.

I found the story to be fascinating - the accounts of the feudal times in Barcelona, particularly, and Cataluña, generally, are very imaginatively done and are breathtaking.

The stages of the construction of the Cathedral and the part it plays in Arnau's life are very well described.

Also, the intervention of the Inquisition in the latter part of the story shows what an insidious organization it was.

A very good read but I don't think that Falconés should give up his day job!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2014
Es la cuenta agradable y afectuosa de un chico de campo que hace bien en la gran ciudad. Cualquiera que esté planeando unas vacaciones en Barcelona debería leer este libro. Ayuda a explicar lo que motivó a la gente medieval de Barcelona para construir sus magníficas iglesias, un triunfo del espíritu humano. Es romántica, pero es creíble, una lectura profundamente agradable, mi tipo de libro.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
Pero no es muy original, es addictivo por el suspense, pero no dice nada nuevo o diferente a otros libros del mismo estilo.

It keeps you hooked because of the plot, but it doesn't say anything diferent from other books of the same style.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2014
An engaging plot for the main hero combined with history of Barcelona and Catalunya. I started to love Barcelona even more after reading this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2013
Fantastic site and suppliers are brilliant, couldn't do enough when I had ordered the wrong book and made it right again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2013
Excellent story so far - print edition is huge so I bought the Kindle edition to real on my phone
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2016
Gripping!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£13.03

Need customer service? Click here