Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
27
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 February 2017
very good
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2017
I love the stories along with the recipes.Helpfull to any chef..cool pictures too
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
I bought this as a gift for someone but once I had a crafty look through I was hooked, it's lovely book, as a recipe book AND an interesting read. I received the Momofuku "Milk' recipe book which is equally fascinating - i am converted and would recommend
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2015
If you know David Chang then you'll know what's up with this book.

Great insight into things and fantastic recipes. Ingredients aren't always standard supermarket finds so get digging in those local Asian stores. Put the time in and you'll be rewarded with seriously good chow.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 15 July 2014
For me, most "fusion" type cookery just falls flat on its face with the mish mash of ingredients and techniques just not going together. This book is however completely different. Sadly I have not had the opportunity to visit the restaurants in New York, but the food is heavily Asian influenced with some Korean and some Japanese dished, but often combined with more European ingredients and styles and it all works brilliantly. It is an extensive book with a very wide selection of recipes ranging from very simple to quite complex (and some featuring less readily available ingredients). Recipes are interspersed with short stories and background information which just adds to the charm of the book. Highly recommended
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2016
This was recommended by Bon Appetit magazine in the US as one of the 10 cookbooks every keen cook should own. I ordered it for my 13 year old nephew who is a great chef and he has been intrigued by the Asian recipes and techniques. He also says it is well written. I'm guessing the measures are probably US not UK measures.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2016
Not just a cookbook, but a good read for anyone interested in restaurants and professional cooking. Amazing recipes too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2011
buy this and read it when you're eating your mediocre mid-week meal to inspire you to greater plates. i'm not a fan of korean food but i like new york food and chang's food and recipes are certainly modern american. the dishes combine techniques and influences of various cultures, and frankly it's a great story to read about how chang ended up where he is now. with hunter-s.-thompson-esque delivery (minus the class a stuff)

even the cover makes it a pretty addition to your bookshelf.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2011
There aren't many recipe books that come along which don't cover ground that's already done to death. That's why I've managed to curb my habit. But the Momofuku book is something else. David Chang, who owns a string of restaurants in NYC, has a style all of his own, and it's here between the covers so we don't have to fly 7 hours every time we fancy a taste of it.

All growers of cruciferous vegetables should bow down to him and thank him for making sprouts sexy and cabbage irresistible. I can't wait to try my hand at the slow-cooked eggs - the directions for which are clear and accessible. As they are for kimchi. The recipe sections are interspersed with David's story, which is a real story, not some silly, fluffed-up fairy story. It's well-written and reminds me a bit of AAGill's extended essay in The Ivy Cookbook; something I will return to and re-read for pleasure.

If you're a foodie it's a treat, but if you like cooking Asian food, it's a must-have.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2011
For anyone who loves ramen noodles and want to know what all the fuss is about regarding this New York restaurant: Momofuk then this is a fantastic buy.

David Chang using simple ingredients has produced cookery book with a down to earth style and recipes you can create at home. It's a beautiful well designed book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)