Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
64
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 January 2013
Have read all the past books by Robinson. And have enjoyed them all.

This book was not worth the wait!

Unbelievable plot and story, very anti UK.....

I'll think twice before bothering to read another of his books
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2013
By far the worst book I have read by this author.Very slow and, more like reading a reference book. I won't be buying another book by this author, after his continual belittleing of my beloved Britain.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2013
Patrick Robinson has taken a lead from Jack Higgins. Target the redneck audience, particularly those Americans who, for whatever reason, consider themselves partially Irish and they will be loyal to his books, however badly written they may be.
Higgins is massively over-rated as a writer and just churns them out with little regard for quality and Robinson seems content to do the same.
If you want a thriller the Mack Bedford books are practically unreadable but if you view them as comedies they have some entertainment value. Even by Robinsons' standards Power Play is bizarre and fanciful with the author's "unique"worldview being indulged to great unintentional hilarity.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2012
Although I enjoyed this read I feel it was not as good as any other book I have read by this author. I felt it was drawn out and took a long time to get to the real action. If you like spy/action thrillers set in the present day or near future I recommend this author but don't start with this novel.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2013
Patrick Robinson has declined seriously. His early book like Nimitz Class were superb but this latest effort is bad in two ways. First, the story line is simply not credible. It basically just assumes the Russians (and Chinese, who figure vaguely in it) are mad, which they are not. And the idea that the US would spend a huge amount building a new base in Ireland (not even a NATO member despite all the sentimental remarks about the old country) just to sink one Russian ship, when it could easily just pay to refurbish a British base, is downright silly and just a way to get in loads of local colour about Donegal. Second, the book continually criticises the UK from an extreme right wing perspective. Strange considering Robinson's highly pro-UK stance in the past. Obviously he has fallen out of love. Admiral Morgan of course is still around, rather unconvincingly living in County Cork.....
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
A plot line that can't even be rescued by Arnold Morgan... I have enjoyed all of his previous releases but this was brutally bad - I won't be buying more. He describes the meeting of a spy and his spy-master in a clandestine rendezvous in a restaurant in darkest Russia. They leave together and shake hands in public... this was captured by an FSB agent on camera...fieldcraft? Anti-British sentiment rules throughout with the USA offering to bail out the Irish economy in return for the building of a naval base in Donegal (really?) Admiral Morgan only makes a sudden appearance right before he's needed to break the deal.
This is weakly constructed drivel.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2013
Poor compared to his previous work. Overly biassed against UK. Seems to have adopted the US as some wonderful cure all.
Perhaps he could bring back his excellent skills and research into a more sensible manner unless of course he actually thinks there will be an American flag over Dublin. Could he be taking the Mickey perhaps.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2012
Not a bad yarn, but far from his best. Continual slagging off UK not necessary for a country sooo good its about to fall of fiscal cliff
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2013
this is the most rubbish book i have read in a very long time. I have read every patrick Robinson book he had written and have
enjoyed every one of them but when I had finished this one I will not buy any more of his books anymore. Thank You.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2013
Mr Robinsons earlier book were great reads, but 'Power Play' sadly is not in the same league as for instance
Nimitz Class etc.
The characters in Power Play are getting a little long in the tooth so to speak, along with the authors love affair
with the US Navey Seals, and why oh why must he continually knock the Royal Navey.

Mr Robinson was clearly wearing his polotics on his sleeve when he wrote this book, it started out very well
quite absorbing, that is, untill the US Navey became involved, and as for Ireland being integrated into the USA
as the 52nd state, dream on Mr (republican) Robinson.

Will not be purchasing any more books by this author unless/untill we get a new set of 'plausable'
characters and events e.g. How does he expect us to swallow the fact that the 'Seals' as good as the might well be
not to suffer a single casualty whe attacking a Russian ship on the high seas, which surely would have had
given the importance of the 'cargo' at the very least a detachment of 'Spetnaz' aboard.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here