Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
34
4.2 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 October 2014
The majority of this book is spent on the people involved rather than the actual 'battle' itself. Whilst I understand and like to know who and what was involved there is just too much detail regarding the history of the people involved. The actual battle description seems to be an after thought. Disappointed.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2017
Very interesting true account, especially to anyone who has visited Austria.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2014
A good historical account. Not quite what the hype suggested, the actual battle is only a small part of the book! Would I have bought it if I had known, yes, but if you are just looking for a good action read much of this book will leave you feeling let down!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Thirty years ago, I stayed in the village of Itter on several occasions on skiing trips.

Over a period of time, I began to hear about the events that had taken place at Schloss Itter, but was never properly able to unearth the complete details, even though I knew the local terrain, which served as a backcloth for the happenings described in The Last Battle. I can also recall a landlord of a Gasthof in Salzburg recalling his own personal experiences of fighting alongside the Americans, but in those days before the Internet it was not so easy to fathom the precise facts.

I am therefore indebted to Stephen Harding for the thoroughness he has applied in researching this book and providing a thoroughly absorbing picture of the events and those who participated in them.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2013
Who knew? German Wehrmacht, French Resistance, and GIs fight the SS in Austria. Brilliantly told, researched. Buy this book — really. Needs to be translated into French and German!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2015
I found the backstory to the main event (the actual battle at Castle Itter) very readable and was intrigued by the relationship struggles of the various French VIPs. Of course, the description of the actual battle itself extremely detailed and Mr. Harding did a nice job of describing it from various points of defence.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2016
The story of the battle for Schloss Itter in Austria in the closing days of WWII is, in my opinion one of the best kept secrets of the period. Stephen Harding's book sets the scene, and describes the players and the period in enough detail to be relevant and informative without becoming a struggle to read and digest. This is a rare skill in my experience. He paints the background to the castle Itter well, and tracks the journey of its prisoners as the war unfolds, and they make their way to their incarceration. The book also paints a fascinating picture of the military war outside the castle, and the political and personal war between the French VIPs inside the castle.

As noted in the newspaper review excerpts on the cover, this is a story begging to be turned into a blockbuster film. A very readable book indeed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2015
Firstly let me say this a great (true) story that's crying out to be made into a TV mini-series. Unfortunately (for me) too much time was spent chronicling the French captives backgrounds rather than detailing the time immediately leading up to the action described, the battle (firefight) itself and the aftermath. The last half of the book is filled with indexes and notes, fooling you into thinking the book is longer than it is.
Well researched and well written, it leaves you wanting a bit more meat on the bones...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2014
this is a great historic story i would recommend it to any one who likes the unusual it is a bit heavy going to begin with though
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2013
I have put aside ARS stuff to read a charming little book called `The Last Battle;' it is the story of an improbable rescue of French VIPS imprisoned by the Nazis in Tyrolia in an ancient castle by a gaggle of Austrian Nazi-resisters, turncoat members of the German Army and and American Tank crew against diehard SS troops given the assignment of killing the VIPS. This occurred in the interregnum between Hitler's death and the first week in May before the official surrender. The writing is crisp and the depictions very well done even though the book was written some 68 years after the event. The book has no socially redeeming virtues; it is just a good story, well told, of people trying to survive a world little of their making. The French VIPs didn't really deserve rescue, but they are not the focus of the story anyway.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse