Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
21


on 18 July 2017
This is a brilliant account of the absolute beginnings of the Blues. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 November 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 October 2011
I have read any number of books on the Blues and this is one of the best. It couples the music's development with contemporaneous cultural events - the plantation system, share-cropping, and segregation. And it brings in the authentic voices of the bluesmen themselves. Anyone interested in the Blues should have this on their shelf.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 May 2016
Bought this without realising it was tied in to the old BBC series of the same name which I watched not so long back on i-player. Goes into much more depth and detail than the programme and takes in not just the music but the background and history and the effects of changing times and locations on the Blues as it was and is played. Gives more space to the women of the Blues than many other similar themed books.
Predictable as many blues stories and characters are if you have read a few books already, The Devils Music nevertheless contained many little nuggets of info and reminiscences that I had not come across before.
There is an odd thickness of page and a grainy look to the print and the b&w picture plates that some may not like, but I found it to be kind of in keeping with the books style as a whole, so not sure if it is a deliberate effect or just cost cutting on the print run.
Very satisfying read that had me reaching for my cd's more than once.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 June 2011
if you're at all interested in the history of the blues - especially if you think it started with red house or stevie ray vaughan - this book is essential. get it !!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 May 2015
Very factual and informative. I feel the book is very let down by the photographs which are appallingly bad quality. They all look like 3rd generation photocopies that have been copied through tissue paper and then printed, too dark, onto the same type of paper as the text! Very unprofessional. Maybe, if another updated edition was planned, more care should be put into the images and their reproduction.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 March 2013
Excellent well written account of the social context in which blues music developed. Shame the print is rather poor quality and the pitures are rather poor quality. But excellent content.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 January 2017
This is a fantastic book for detail but I found it a very hard read. It could almost be a university text book and the photos are appalling which to me showed a real lack of respect for the musicians within the book. The text was described by another reviewer as monotonous and I agree but with that said the factual detail is excellent so if you are a blues nerd then this is for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 August 2014
I have bought this for my son - an avid fan of all things New Orleans, especially the music. And this will be a perfect read for him and increase his desire to visit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 September 2015
If you want to dig deep and get a real feel for the history of the blues then this is an ideal book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse