Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 16 April 2012
This book is excellent.

As the other reviewers have stated it is a collection of stories based on his wartime experiences and a number of short stories (fictional) that are very well set-out.

Firstly, his war was horrid. Read the section entitled "It Was Cruel" and you'll be disgusted at what these men went through to keep Britain going, but at the same time, their sacrifice will make you proud.

Monsarrat also injects humour in the most unlikely of places and some sections genuinely had me giggling at the absurdity of it all. It has highs, lows, humour and sadness - the lot.

I just wish there was more of it!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 23 July 2014
From an historical point of view this is a valuable little book and I'm glad I have it on my bookshelves. If you;re looking for the excitement and detail of other Monserrat books such as "The Cruel Sea" you won't find it here as this is basically a release of the pre-print notes for that very book. Still - a good read and a great insight into the author which is why I've given it five stars.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2011
For anyone who has read The Cruel Sea, and wondered at Nicholas Montserrat's ability to capture the pure essence of the war at sea, all will be revealed in Three Corvettes. Each story is a diary of the author's own experiences of life on a small escort ship, mundane and monotonous for the most part, dramatic and exciting in flashes, and the three combine to provide (in my opinion) the bedrock of his later masterpiece. Great reading, full of insights into that terrible time, and written with an apparent complete understanding of those he served with, and a warm sympathy towards their own lives and problems.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2017
Prompt delivery-no problems
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2017
Brilliantly told stories of life during WW2 in corvettes on Atlantic and North Sea convoys. Should be obligatory reading for all RN officers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2017
great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2017
I found his description of life on a series of corvettes in different situations very interesting. However he also devotes some time to philosophical musings on the war etc which I found less interesting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2017
My husband really enjoyed this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWERon 16 December 2008
I came across this gem on holiday recently while staying in a chambre d'hote, and found it to be riveting bed-time reading. I've owned a copy of The Cruel Sea since the seventies, but this is altogether more realistic.

My paperback 1973 Mayflower edition of Three Corvettes is actually a collection of three short autobiographical accounts of Monsarrat's experience serving on a corvette and is based on his diaries. Each piece was published separately at the time of writing, because, like many others, he was expecting to be killed the next time he went out on duty.

The structure, strengths and weaknesses of British WW2 Naval command are made all too clear, and the book makes one realise how lucky Britain was to win the war.

My eyes were opened wide regarding the duties of the different ranks, how the watches were organised, how the responsibilities were assigned, how the team functioned. If I were to write a novel or film about life on a small fighting ship, this would make excellent background reference material, far more revealing than any dry official manuals of ranks and standing orders.

I found the moralising somewhat overlong, hence only four stars, but this also serves to emphasise just how much the Services went through, and why they continued to do what they did with such dedication and heroism.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
Quite a good read but not too interesting enough for me.Maybe the auther could spend more time on the war than the women.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)