Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 January 2015
I loved this book. The diary format makes it flow really well and the whole range of topics you would expect from a fighter pilot are discussed. The frightening amount of crashes and bailing out this man experienced is amazing. You get to see all sides of the personality of the time; from the outright respect to fellow airmen from the UK and US, to the brutal chastisement of anything vaguely communist.

Overall, a great read for anyone interested in air combat in the war and how its pressures impacted on the lives of the men involved.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
I ordered a copy as a gift for my military historian husband, who'd never heard of it. He loved it!

It's the story of one man's war, and it's a great read - he couldn't put it down and would regularly update me as to what the pilot was up to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
A very enjoyable book, always interesting to learn about the view from 'the other side'
Although a proud German, the author was no Nazi.. its sad to read how a country was so deceived & slowly destroyed..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2014
Amazing book. Was very interesting to
Get a whole new perspective on the war.
Recommended reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2013
I read this book when I was still at school in the 50s. Now at almost 70, I have enjoyed it once more
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2010
This is a gripping tale, which often reads more like a movie script than a life story. In his own mind, he is a tragic hero fighting against the evil that is bolshevism. The only good Russian is a dead one - they are the bad guys, not Hitler and the Nazis. He spends the great majority of his war-career fighting against the British and Americans (who he considers his equals) yet that does not make him (or them) bad guys. The odds against him get longer and longer, his flying comrades drop one by one, yet onwards our hero fights. He writes of his grief and anguish, yet I must conclude that this self-righteous fellow glories in the blood and the gore as well, as he seems to spare nothing in his description of these scenes. Throughout his writings he displays a false sense of modesty, yet it becomes evident that he is a brave and truly patriotic man as well. This blend of callowness and nobility make him a fascinating study in human nature. Yet in the final analysis he is really not so different from you or me, is he not ?

This book is a good character study on the mind-set of a patriotic (Nazi?) Luftwaffe flyer. It has vivid descriptions of aerial combats as well. Of all the Luftwaffe bios I have read (includes Lipfert, Hannig, Schuck, Buchner, Hartmann) this one most reminds me most of a comic book. A great read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2014
Mind blowing story of Me109 pilot's war
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2016
Very good!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2016
Fantastic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2010
This book was a waste of time and money.
It is a pot-boiler, pure and simple, rushed out shortly after the war ended to capitalise on interest on the story from "the other side". There are clear signs that the author avoided commenting on anything which might be controversial, whether about his personal life or the conduct of the war. Just what did the author and his co-pilots think about the enemy, and the leadership of the Luftwaffe - and how did the pilots' morale change?
At times I wondered if this man really existed. He appears to have had an excellent combat record, which would surely have meant promotion to a very high level given the huge losses the Luftwaffe suffered. But then I realised, and this comes across in the book - sorry to say it, but he was not leadership material.
Yes, there are some good accounts of dog-fights, but there are infinitely better accounts. I personally would heartily recommend Adolf Galland's personal account and David Baker's superb biography.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)