Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
120
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 April 2016
This is a wonderful book. It tells the story of Malta during the war with such clarity. The priest was the perfect vehicle as a storyteller whose connections over the island enabled him to show a wide view of the suffering at every level. His natural compassion and love for his people makes the reader feel involved in a situation that few people seem to be aware of nowadays.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2017
This is not a perfect read but it gets five stars from me for how it made me feel. If you have ever been to Malta or read about the wonderful spirit of the people during The Siege of in 1565, then this is the perfect book for you. I recently returned from a trip to Malta and was ashamed that my knowledge of what the islands and it's people had been through during the,second works war had been so poor. This book captured my interest and my heart from the very beginning and kept them throughout. It has it all. Heroes and heroines, bad and weak people, resilient people, brave people and a raconteur beyond compare.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
A fascinating book for anyone visiting Malta who wants to know about its colourful history .. and a good story too!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2017
Love the book of which I already have an old copy. Updated to a new copy in order to get a more readable print size and was very disappointed to find the print is very small. It would be really helpful if the seller could warn the purchaser of this fact. Pippa
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2017
This is the most interesting book I have read in years. Malta is a fascinating place anyway, and its wartime history quite breath taking. I cannot recommend it too highly for anyone interested in Malta.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2015
There is a lot of reading on the siege of Malta from 1940 to1942 from the military perspective. This gives it from the perspective of the civil populace by following the life of a Preist as he ministered his parish during those dark days and gives some history of Malta on a series of small 'flashbacks.' Good reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2017
Ideal book to read on holiday in Malta as it gives the history of the islands, within an entertaining story. At times the inclusion of historical information is a little contrived, but non the less, thoroughly recommended. It is particularly good at describing what it must have been like in the WW2 bombardment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2017
agreat read second time
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2017
A very moving and well told story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse