Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 September 2001
Air Crew is honestly one of the best books i have ever read. Dedicating one chapter to each position in a bomber he tell the story of sorrow, bravery, fear and humor. I have never laughed at the idea of war bu there are so many funny situations that the crew expirenced. now see how they got back into the cockpit so many more times without fear. A must read.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2005
I'm afraid that I can't recommend this book, as it's the worst of the many WW2 memoirs that I have read. It really adds very little to the sum total of knowledge, and in terms of the style of writing is most irritating. The author seems to sit on a fence between describing his experiences and recalling those of others, and the effect is, to me, a little disorienting.
The style of writing is functional and does little to really get beneath the skin of the aircrew whose experiences are being described. Actually reading the book is a pretty unpleasant experience - which is a shame because there is a decent book in here somewhere - I really think that the author would benefit from a better editor. Perhaps the concept of a single chapter illustrating the experiences of a different kind of aircrew is fundementally flawed - is a single chapter anywhere near enough to even begin to scrape the surface?
If you are looking for a good read on the subject of bomber operations in WW2 then I suggest either of Jack Currie's books, Tail End Charlies by John Nichol, or Max Hasting's book. Give this one a miss.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2014
This book is arranged as a number of chapters, each telling the story of different members of a bomber crew (pilot, navigator, gunner and so on).

I find that this format works very well, at the same time mixing character development and private lives with recruitment, training, and operational experience. You really get to feel that you know the subject of each chapter. The overwhelming sense from this book is one of total awe for the men involved. Flying arguably the most expensive and sophisticated machines ever designed by man - and at an average age of not more than 20!

The last chapters concern the USAAF and these are written so utterly different in style from the rest of the book that they feel somewhat incongruous. There is no sense of the character of men involved which means they feel distant and somehow not really real. Its as if the author gave up and simply copied and pasted the final chapters in as an afterthought.

Nonetheless, this is a cracking read and I recommend it most highly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2013
Interesting overview of the different jobs and training. The individual stories are obviously rather short and the losses, stress waste are not as affecting as they are in, say, Don Charnwood. The photos are rather faded
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2010
I selected this book due to the research option on Amazon, as I am researching information about Blackpool. Upon on reviewing the book, it gives great details of the Raf, but it does let itself down by not having an index. Luckily I was able to find the pages I required through the "see inside this book" option provided by Amazon. But all in all a very good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2010
An excelelnt book that tells about the lives, loves, fears and sorties of the much-maligned men of Bomber Command in WWII. It is a shame on our national psyche that there is still no official statue to these brave men whose average age was late-teens/early 20s. So many of them gave their lives to preserve our way of life today that this book should be read by everyone and there should be a national outcry for a statue.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2013
another great read about the brave lads that flew into battle every night during WW2, book in great condition as stated,fast delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2016
It wax a very good read and gave me an insight into what the aircrews went through on their long missions
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2016
Excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)