Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
11
4.9 out of 5 stars

on 25 April 2017
A great book detailing the later years of the U-Boat war during the Battle of the Atlantic. The book, like the first volume in the series, is impeccably researched with a plethora of facts and figures about the campaign. Again, despite the wealth of information, I found the book and easy and enjoyable read. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2014
The book was a gift for my husband, who is thrilled to have been reading it for several days already. Excellent service, many thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
The definitive history of the U Boats at war, and very readable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2016
more please
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2002
Clay Blair's second volume of the Series 'Hitler's U-boat War' is a stark contrast to the first. He highlights the rapid descent of the U-boats and the rapid domination of the Allied anti-submarine technologies and doctrines.
The book is very well written for the researcher and avid historian, casual readers may find it a tad dry in the delivery. As a naval historian, researcher, and author myself, I've not been able to find any inaccuracies in Mr. Blair's work. His work from primary sources is of very high quality, including the technical datum found in the appendixes, detailing convoy losses, war patrols and sinkings, and Allied convoy dispositions and anti-submarine vessel construction and technologies.
When added to the first volume, The Hunters, this book completes a must-have series for anyone with more than a causal interest in German submarine warfare.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2012
A book I have been trying to source at a decent price for some time. This popped up at a bargain price and was in excellent condition, considering the price I paid. Arrived in good time as well. Very pleased with the book and the service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2016
I have the first volume of this book which is first class if you are interesred in the U-Boat war. This volume, I think, is now out of print but found for me by this supplier, Very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2017
Blair's detailed study of the U-Boat war reveals a far better understanding of the reality of this naval battle than that portrayed by most, if not all, naval historians.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2015
If you like the facts and figures then this is for you, after you have read the first book of course.
I found it fascinating and compelling reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2007
Magnificent book about the grey wolfs. In my opinion Clay Blair makes one of the most compreensive and detailed account about this struggle. A must for all "submariners" and should read for worl war two enthusiastics. Together with "The hunters" the best description of the battle of the atlantic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)