Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
302
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.38+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 June 2015
This book gives a glimpse into the living hell that was the Eastern front. Sajer, who is half French, starts out as a 17 year old in the transport corp and ends up in a front line combat support unit. He also describes what it was like to get caught in allied bombing raids and the conditions and restrictions in war time Germany. One of the things that stands out is now badly these soldiers where treated by there own side.

Sajer describes some combat situations in detail but also skims over other events which he can no longer or chooses not to recall. There are some gory details and some of the events are told with hindsight. Some books you want more, in my opinion this could have done with a little less (560pages). Mainly some of his thoughts he had at the time, but this doesn't distract from the story much.

A good insight into the conditions that's both the Russians and German armies when through.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2017
Makes for very uncomfortable reading as it describes the horrors of the Russian Front. Interesting personal conflict of the author coming from the French Alsace region.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2017
Quite simply amazing. THE without a doubt, best account of WW2 I have ever read. Really wish HBO would make this into a TV series as "The German band of brothers"
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2017
Read the book years ago. Will read in the long nights of winter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2016
Well worth reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2017
i read the book, now i have a cd's!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2017
As an ex soldier I found Guy s experiences astonishing. Could not put the book down and to think he survived is amazing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2017
Makes you grateful for what life you posses. Will be reading more books on the eastern front through German eyes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
a
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2005
Simply the best book I have ever read.
This book captures the smell and feel of war. In terms of scale and ferocity the Eastern front of WW11 will be the most brutal war zone man will ever know, The nuclear age means we will never again see such a conflict, No pervious war comes close to this. defeat or capture means almost certain death.
This account is written by someone who was there, Guy Sajer's account makes you come alive.
This book stands as a testament to the courage of the troops on the frontline and a chilling reminder of what they went through.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)