Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 26 July 2016
This is a beautiful book, lavishly illustrated on almost every page (so don't buy the kindle version). The authors discuss a wide range of evidence from several disciplines, including forensic archaeology, numismatics, even genetics, to supplement the scanty written evidence. Additional sections after each chapter help to place the written sources - Gildas, Bede, the Anglo-Saxon Chronicle - in context, with their respective advantages and disadvantages. Intelligently written, up-to-date and eminently readable. I recommend it highly for the interested beginner.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 September 2014
Not read to the end, but the sections I have used were useful. The most recent scholarship, so its a useful complement to James Campbell's book that is a little dated, with plenty of maps and useful illustrations, and handy sub-sections explring relevant subjects.

Worthy edition to the library of any historian, Anglo-Saxonist or anyone interested in this period.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 July 2014
If can only have one book about Anglo Saxon times, this is the one for you. It is colourful, educated and robust. I borrowed it from the library before I bought it and did not want to take it back. Other people have given good reviews, read them and then buy this with confidence.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 September 2016
If you love your History this book is a must!!. Extremely well written with lots of colour photos and maps. Be advised though it's big and heavy. But in my opinion well worth every penny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 March 2016
This is an excellent up to date book on the subject. It is not a popular book but rather a serious yet accessible one written by two academics who know what they are talking about. I particularly liked the way that they included sections on the evidence and the conclusions that can be drawn from it. very well illustrated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 November 2015
I bought this as a gift so I've only had a quick look. It's beautifully illustrated and scholarly without being heavy. I just want to add that having had a look through it made me want to read it. It's such a beautiful book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 December 2013
This book contains much up to date information and illustrations.
It is very informative and covers a wide range of subjects, providing a good background to Anglo Saxon Britain.
It does not delve in very great detail but provides excellent pointers to key events during this period of history,
which the reader may choose to study further in greater detail.
It should prove to be a very useful reference for future studies.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 March 2016
Wonderfully presented work. My first encounter with Anglo-Saxon history and archaeology. It is for course work but it is a hugely enjoyable book in its own right.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 January 2018
Excellent, well written and incredibly informative. Great addition to library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 February 2018
Easy to read, very informative and well illustrated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)