Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 5 August 2015
Highly informative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 November 2015
Scholarly but an enjoyable read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 August 2015
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 May 2014
A really first class book, amazing information, a really good read. My husband was thrilled with it.would recommend , a good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 February 2015
Everything perfect. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 February 2016
The book is excellent, but I was very disappointed to find there are no picture plates in my kindle edition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 December 2015
Fine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 September 2017
Excellent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 5 August 2011
I have owned this book for several years, and while I have used it quite a few times for referencing and finding information, this is the first time I have read it from cover to cover.

It is an interesting book, in that it attempts to explain how the `ordinary' people of the time (1400-1580) `lived' their religion - what they were required to learn, to do, how they were required to show their faith. It was of course a time of great change in England, with the Henrician Reformation, Edward VI, the attempt to return to Catholicism under Mary and the somewhat less fervent religion of Elizabeth I.

What must be borne in mind when reading this is that the author is a staunch Catholic, and this is quite evident throughout the book - sadly, it means that I felt some of the writing needed to be taken with some scepticism, or a healthy dose of temperance anyway.

But this does not detract from the book being both informative and interesting, though you may find yourself feeling that the author has overstated somewhat some of his conclusions, particularly about the vibrancy and reality of Catholic faith in the fifteenth century. I felt you needed to question `conformity' versus `conviction' while reading some of this book; what really motivated many (though certainly not all) English people in their faith. And I'm not sure that Margery Kempe can really be continually referred to as any kind of `normal' English Catholic of the time. I think she would have stood out in any period of history as being somewhat outside the average believer.

A good and worthwhile read. Just don't accept it as the only view on this time in English religious history.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 September 2017
buy any Eamnon Duffy you will have a really good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)