Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
16


on 17 March 2017
I have found this dictionary very useful. I often watch Norwegian TV with subtitles and use this dictionary to learn new words. It has been great! The only drawback is that it could do with updating with modern terms. Otherwise, a great choice!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 September 2017
A comprehensive dictionary with a history of the language and useful grammar notes. The only criticism is the print format is quite small for the volume of the content meaning the font size is very small and so using the dictionary feels unnecessarily difficult.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 October 2004
Brilliant. If only there were comparable Danish and Swedish versions. I have been using this dictionary for 20 years in my work as a translator and quite honestly it is the best dictionary on the market. My only quibble is that the typeface is very small, but the range of vocabulary is beryond reproach. After 20 years my copy has finally fallen apart and I am ordering a new copy.
22 Comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 September 2016
Written by the late, great Einar Haugen - perhaps one of the best bilingual dictionaries ever written. I've used a copy for the last 20 years first as a student and then as a translator.

It has almost everything you could want to know about Norwegian - read the book description at the top of this page. The only thing it needs is an equally gifted lexicographer to update it.

A must buy!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 January 2009
This Norwegian-English dictionary is essential when trying to learn more complex Norwegian. Once you get past the "Hello" and "How are you" stage you'll find that you need something like this to decipher the vast differences in dialect throughout the language.

As well as including slang, swearwords and differences in spelling, the dictionary shows examples of the word in context. This is the best reference I have found for improving my Norwegian vocab and understanding of the language.

Note- This dictionary only translates from Norwegian to English
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 March 2008
Not a book for the complete beginner, but if you want to progress in Norwegian (which is a diverse family of dialects), this is the most important dictionary you need. Use English-Norwegian/Norwegian-English dictionaries by all means, but there is nothing on the market which comes close to the Green Book. Indispensable: you won't be able to properly translate without it. The only Norwegian-English dictionary to include both Bokmål and Nynorsk, as well as dialect words. If you're serious about learning Norwegian, you can't go wrong with this. No praise high enough.
11 Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 September 2013
This is a must-have dictionary if you're learning Norwegian. It has EVERYTHING - Bokmål Nynorsk, all verb forms, alternate versions. When you're reading Norwegian and find a word you don't know, you will find it in this dictionary. This is the only dictionary I've seen that can boast this. Another advantage is this book includes American English vocabulary, not just British English vocabulary. The author lived in the USA. A disadvantage is that it is only Norwegian to English, but the advantages of this dictionary outweigh that easily surmountable issue.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 December 2012
This is an excellent dictionary. It is about the only way of coping with the numerous changes that have taken place in Norwegian spelling over the last 150 years or so. My only criticism is that the binding of my copy was so bad that pages started to fall out after less than one week of very careful use.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 July 2014
a well worth while purchase, I have been to Norway and will find this very helpful when I need help to translate in more remote areas
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 February 2001
A brilliant book to help the new and advanced learner cope with the confusion of dialect words he or she will meet each day in Norway.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)