Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 April 2014
"I Am Malala" Malala Yousafzai is the book about a brave girl in difficult times, a girl who opposed the injustice and almost paid for that with her life.

Inside you'll find her story that starts with the Taliban occupation of the Swat Valley in Pakistan, and all the unpleasant changes that have occurred due to that for women, and especially female children.
Malala Yousafzai refused to be quiet, she wanted to go to school, she fought for her education and future.

Unfortunately, one day when she was returning home from school with the bus, she was shot in the head and although it was hard to expect that she'll survive, she didn't only do that, but a lot more.
She recovered, and due to her bravery she become symbol of oppressed women fighting for education and other human rights, she spoke in United Nations and become youngest ever nominee for the Peace Nobel Prize.

Therefore, if you want to read a story about courage, about the impossible that could be achieved, becoming even harder if you are a child, I can fully recommend you to read this book.
It will inspire you and show you that the human spirit cannot be suppressed by any prohibitions, because thanks to him we as human beings have become the only intelligent beings in this world.

And no matter how hard some mad regime tries to extinguish our spirit and freedom, it will always rise in someone's character, as was the case with a young Malala.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2013
An inspirational story of one girl's fight for something the west takes for granted - education for girls - and the price she paid for her stand
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2014
The book was very worthwhile reading. It describes the historical background and current situation, which help the reader comprehend the lawlessness, backwardness (contrasting with the pre-Partition era when the rate of literacy in Pakistan was high) and oppression in Pakistan which, in the name of religion, deny the female population access to education. Malala is an exception thanks to a very enlightened father. Her miraculous survival after the near fatal shooting have given this brave and very articulate child a very sympathetic world-wide audience. One is uncertain how effectively this will resonate with the population of Pakistan, who are unable to look at themselves objectively in relation to the rest of the world's progress, which is owed to Education. Proceeds from the book go to the Malala foundation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2014
Malala is truly a heroine for our times.
Malala may seem an unlikely heroine... The young Pakistani Muslim girl from the Swat valley who refused to give up going to school and then, having been shot in the head for this "crime" refused to die! Her father's choice of name for her has proved to be curiously apt and perhaps helped to shape and underpin her destiny.

Malala's shocking experiences have given her a rare and extra-ordinary focus and sense of purpose . The Taliban's attempt to silence her and through her punish her father for speaking up against their twisted and inhuman reasoning has rebounded on them in an extra-ordinary way. Instead of silencing her they have ensured that her voice of reason, and love, and faith has now reached millions across the globe and given women and girls everywhere, who are oppressed and denied their basic human rights hope and courage in dark places. Malala can never be silenced now. Her voice has escaped the bars that threatened to crush it and flies free. It is to be hoped that Malala, who now has to live as an exile, will see freedom and peace return to her beloved Swat valley so that one day she can be properly honoured in her own country.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2015
I didn't know anything about Malala other than that she got shot in the head, so I picked up this book.
Thorougly enjoyed the insight it gave in Pashtun culture and in the struggle she, her father and others had to go through to promote education in their region.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2015
A beautifully written account of life in the Swat Valley. Malala is an ordinary child growing up in the harsh world of poverty and militant extremism. She is determined and learns fast, has a very clear sense of right and wrong and sets out to show ths world that girls have as much right to learning as boys.

Her story in the awful society forced upon her people by the Taliban is inspirational. The Taliban made the biggest mistake ever in trying to kill her. The result has been that Malala has shown the world that terrorism can never win and that the word of the pen is so much more powerful.

Thank you Malala.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2015
This gives an insight into life in the Swat valley, important political events in the history of Pakistan, and living under Taliban oppression. Malala writes about her family, her friends and their school. Towards the end of the book there is the account of the attempt on her life, hospitalisation in Pakistan, and the amazing surgery in the hospital in Birmingham.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2015
This was an extremely insightful book as I learned about the struggles of Malala's life pre, during and post her incident. I already knew a little bit about women's role and lives in Pakistan and Afghanistan but I am now even more informed. I often found myself comparing my childhood and life against that of Malala and it really made me appreciate the opportunities I have had and will continue to have. Malala is truly inspirational in her fight for children's right to education. I would strongly recommend ALL readers to read this novel and discover the truth about others' ways of life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2014
Looking for non-fiction books for my 12 year-old daughter for Christmas - this ticked the box very well. She hasn't finished it yet, but it's proving to be a very good read, suitable for her age, inspirational, thought provoking and gives an informed insight into another culture. Helps to balance the fiction/non-fiction content on her bookshelf and is infinitely more preferable than the latest crop of boy-band biogs!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2013
This is the fascinating story of an amazing and exceptional young lady, which not only describes her life to the age of 16 years but paints a vivid picture of life in the Swat Valley in Pakistan. The reader gets an excellent idea of the effect of the Taliban on the lives of the inhabitants of that area, particularly females. You can also sense the warmth of her feelings for the loving family in which she was brought up. Malala's story is truly inspiring and I shall be keeping my copy of this book for my 3 year old grand-daughter, to give to her as soon as she is old enough to read it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse