Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 April 2017
Interesting good corresåondanse between Jennyfer Worth and readers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Good, Very Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2017
A bit dull
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2014
Excellent read. Love the book and love the era it is set it. And learning about years before us is highly interesting
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2017
Love all of the books by Jennifer Worth so amazing her stories about being a midwife
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2014
Yet another precious look into the Eastend of post war London. I found it very touching that people had felt moved to write to Jenny, particularly Nurses & midwives who had many similar experiences to share with her. This collection of letters, plus information taken from Jenny's own diary, make this a very interesting & informative book. Jenny always took the time to reply & even meet or speak to the people who contacted her. (Making the Call The Midwife books into a TV series was inspirational.) This book also gives an insight into Jenny before she went to the convent . She was an extremely talented & in dependant lady, who will be missed by many.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
Jennifer Worth didn't leave a minute of her life to waste away, she had a clear understanding of many things and used this to give help hope and joy to many people. Her memories made other people who had done midwifery about the same time as she did recall their own memories and feel glad that they had done so
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I really don't watch a great deal of television drama. I work strange hours in my job as a Community Development Worker, often having evening meetings that finish quite late and I never seem to be at home on the same evening each week. However, I watched the first episode of Call The Midwife and was hooked. I have no idea why, I'm not a mother, I've never been interested in nursing, or in being a nun! There's just something about the programme that entrances me for the full hour that it is on.

When Letters to the Midwife popped through the letterbox, I was intrigued by it, and started to read straight away, and could hardly put it down. The book is introduced by Jennifer Worth's family; her husband Philip and her two daughters and Miranda Hart has written the foreward.

This book is a real piece of social history, with stories from people who would probably never have been able to tell them so widely if it were not for Jennifer Worth. So many people wrote to her after she wrote her books; people who recognised the places that she described and the people that she worked with. Some people even recognised Jennifer herself. It is clear from the amount of correspondence she received, and the fact that she took the time to answer the letters, and that she kept them all, that Jennifer Worth was a lady of compassion and depth, and was much loved by all who came into contact with her.

This is a fascinating look at Jennifer Worth's 'other' side too - the time she spent in Paris in the 1950s is especially interesting.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2014
Having enjoyed all Jennifer Worth's books this was a book i just had to read. It was so moving. I could not put it down. Jennifer obviously enjoyed receiving the letters from her readers and it was wonderful that so many people took time to correspond with her. She was a caring person and i feel all medical trainees should read her books as part of their courses. Times might have been hard and living standards poor but the level of care delivered to her patients were far better than some people receive today.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)