Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Learn more



on 21 April 2012
Excellent book for kids from 10 years to 99 I'd guess. Good old comic fantasy fiction, verging on the surrealistic.

I believe it's been made into an Ardman animation, however I prefer books as they stretch my imagination - films are someone else's immagination! For scientists think mainly Darwin (and Capt Fitzroy on the Beagle) though there is a brief visit to the Royal Society that lasts one chapter. The Bishop of Oxford gets some bad press from Darwin, however this is one of the chronological inaccuracies in this story (it was many years before his Origin of the Species was written and the subsequent arguments), but then it is all made up by Gideon Defoe isn't it? Surely he's allowed some poetic license!!

I didn't quite get the obsession with "ham", but then a Pirate probably lives on his/her stomach when they aren't hunting for treasure.

Bob the reviewer is in his sixties.......
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 November 2012
I think that if you have seen the recent film by the makers of Wallace & Gromit, then this will seem a bit dull in comparison. My daughter is quite a 'young' nine year old but nevertheless she was not inspired by the book and for the first time ever, when comparing a book to a dramatisation, told me she preferred the film version.
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICETOP 1000 REVIEWERon 12 July 2005
This book is guaranteed to embarass you if read in public by causing uncontrolable fits of giggles.
By far and away the funniest book I have read in years, small and perfectly formed, I cannot recommend it highly enough.
Buy it now!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 April 2012
Great story. A must for young and old. Now a new movie release. I will have to purchase the other books in the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 April 2012
A very enjoyable read and a fond reminder of early Monty Python type humour. The story moves along at a galloping pace introducing the Pirate Captain and his hardy crew, making them easy to remember and the plot begins early so as to captivate the reader's interest.

The ending is a delight. I will read others in the series and will see the Aardman film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 January 2018
Very funny book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 January 2016
v.good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 June 2015
Funny story but not the same as the Aardman film of the same title.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 June 2013
The Author has a amusing and unique writing style and loves to tell trivia which make this great for kids and adult kids a like
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 May 2013
I would recommend this book to anyone. It is not too long/taxing to read, so it makes a lovely revision break. Funny throughout, you will definitely be chuckling to yourself when reading this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse