Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
204
3.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 March 2016
good book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2017
Excellent product!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 September 2007
If you were to read 'The Intimate Adventures..' as fiction, it would be passable chic-lit. It's written quite well and the diary format narrative hangs together.

Having said that, there is a bit of a sinister undercurrent running throughout the whole book. Belle seems to be suggesting that if you like money and sex then you should consider prostitution as a possible career. This is just one example, from when she meets a student who is waiting for her PhD results;

'it occurs to me, well, it's no cure-all, but a few months in prostitution might do her the world of good. Have a primp and smile for once. Put the overdraft back in the black. Get her mind off herself now and again.'

There are other similar parts in the book where I felt quite uncomfortable and began to wonder if 'Belle de Jour' was actually a man. For example;
'he'd stop the car suddenly and we'd get out and he'd smack me one. My knickers were always sopping wet after.'

It might just be me, but I know a lot of women and I don't know any who like to be knocked about and whilst I think prostitutes don't get the support they deserve, I wonder how many would really advocate it as a positive career choice?!

An Ok read if you take it as fiction
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 October 2007
If you were to read 'The Intimate Adventures..' as fiction, it would be passable chic-lit. It's written quite well and the diary format narrative hangs together.

Having said that, there is a bit of a sinister undercurrent running throughout the whole book. Belle seems to be suggesting that if you like money and sex then you should consider prostitution as a possible career. This is just one example, from when she meets a student who is waiting for her PhD results;

'it occurs to me, well, it's no cure-all, but a few months in prostitution might do her the world of good. Have a primp and smile for once. Put the overdraft back in the black. Get her mind off herself now and again.'

There are other similar parts in the book where I felt quite uncomfortable and began to wonder if 'Belle de Jour' was actually a man. For example;
'he'd stop the car suddenly and we'd get out and he'd smack me one. My knickers were always sopping wet after.'

It might just be me, but I know a lot of women and I don't know any who like to be knocked about and whilst I think prostitutes don't get the support they deserve, I wonder how many would really advocate it as a positive career choice?!

An Ok read if you take it as fiction
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2012
I decided to read Belle's books after I saw the TV show... I must admit the book is edgier and blunter. I loved the series but they are really different from the book - I prefer the book, of course.
Although it is mostly about Belle's personal life, the parts about the job are amazing as she describes her clients and their fantasies and ways. I recommend it, but only if you do not expect all of it to be written by a working girl cause it's mostly just about a sexy, adventurous woman who lives in london.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2011
I must be honest and say that although I bought this as a gift for a friend I just couldn't resist reading it first - just out of curiosity you understand!

The book is not at all pornographic but well written, humorous, and entertaining. If you watched the TV series starring Billie Piper you will see precisely where the storylines originated.To fully appreciate the book you really need to Google the author to discover her reasons for being a call girl and her life since - maybe one day the subject of another book.

On a chilly winter evening with a glass of wine and a good fire most men will find this book titillating whilst their wives or girlfriends will, at first, dismiss it as "porn" but then avidly read it from cover to cover!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2011
This book was not what I imagined at all! It was written by an itelligent, sophisticated young woman. Who got into the sex industry simply as a way of paying her bills. She wasn't pushed to do it but couldn't find a job that she really wanted to do!
She is witty, funny and entirely down to earth. The sex scenes (if you like) were not horrific and she didn't go into too much detail about the sex as such and she certainly seems to enjoy her job and thats just what it is to her, a job.
She talks of her everyday life trying to find Mr Right and her day to day life with friends and ex boyfriends quite candidly, which is sometimes more interesting!
I wasn't shocked or offended by her story at all, she came across as the girl next door type girl but with a job in the sex industry.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2010
I bought this book because I thought it would a good read, after watching the TV Series with Billie Piper in and interview with real Belle De Jour. I have to admit, I was took back after reading the first chapter, as it certainly not like the TV series at all I was hoping that some of the events in the series would be based from the book...but still entertaining.

Belle has written it like a diary, in bite size pieces which is great if you only have 5 minutes here or there to get a quick read in on a bus etc, but it does get confusing as she addresses four of her ex boyfriend's as A1, A2, A3, and A4 and its very hard to remember which is which. She doesnt use names for people which makes it less memorable, she uses things like "the boy" or "N" or "Ten pence bet", sometimes you have to guess when she talks about some men if its "clients" or if its real life dates when shes not being 'Belle'.

It does jump forward and back a few times and occasionally I have had to turn back the pages to recall on the person she refers to. Other than that, I enjoyed it, and tried reading the odd section every time I had 5 minutes. I will be buying a couple of others, just so I can say I read them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2011
Sex, clothes and the empowered woman. The TV show stimulates the eye with an overindulgent dose of glamour and sultriness for the viewer. The book lives up to Billie Piper's visual pleasure and then some. Belle gives the gory details that the reader obviously wants about each client, each laughable event and also each personal memoir. However it's done in a very exposed way, that brings you closer to the real Belle and allows you to see a vulnerability that isn't always show in the television show. There are no gaps in her experiences and no fear, the book presenting a woman that seems to know her own mind and the fact that she is the user- not the used.

The narrative style is not a far cry from Bridget Jones, each chapter title written monthly in French. Just to add that extra bit of feminine mystique to the character. It's chatty, open and over generous with its lashings of detail and moments of exhaled disgust and giggles. It's fun to read, with the occasional darker side that reminds you that this is a book based on reality and creative chic lit. However it's well worth a lazy afternoon on the sofa, as you delve into something a bit naughty but also a bit nice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2010
Don't get me wrong, I enjoyed (most of) the book, but having recently read the blog archives, I didn't read much in the book that was new. If you've read the blog, then personally I don't think it's worth the extra money, if you've only watched the show, then you might enjoy it, but as earlier reviewers have said, some of it is a bit more 'hardcore' than what you saw Billie Piper doing on TV.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)