Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 26 January 2007
I have little to add to the previous reviewer who has said all that I would have written. This is one of the most understated books I have read about a single person's exploits in the aviation world. For me every paragraph on every page could have (and should have) been expanded to provide greater detail to the already mind-blowing expolits of the author.

One day in his every day life would almost fit the 'wish list' of many aspiring aviators.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2017
What a phenomenal read - Captain Brown certainly lived an amazing life and was clearly a highly talented and competent test pilot. Lots of information and history, particularly covering the trans-sonic era. All round an excellent read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2014
An interesting, insightful read - one of the best aviation books you'll read. Not sure there's much I can add to other reviews here....written in a measured tone it gives a vivid review of some of the many interesting aircraft, equipment, people and places the author has come across in a fascinating career - riveting!

Only wish it was longer as I finished it in a few days - i'll look out some more of Eric Browns other work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2017
A super book about a clever and talented test pilot,but I would have liked a little more detail on the outcome of the air tests,also the book doesn’t flow,but a good read anyway.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2017
There will never be anyone like Captain Brown again. Whilst it is not great literature, the indefatigable nature of the man and the stories he has to tell carry the whole book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2017
It was amazing how many bullets this man dodged. It couldn't have been luck it must have been down to his extraordinary skill. Now that was a life worth living an an inspiration to us all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
A great read from the man that flew more aircraft types than any other. He did so much for British aviation. The right stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2017
Excellent book about a pioneer of modern aviation, who deserves to be more well-known.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Brilliant. very good book. The true stories are always the best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2017
Captain Brown is a real British hero. We need heroes in this country more than ever.

Read this wonderful book as his true story makes James Bond look like he sits around all day!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)