Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 November 2008
I must say the author has made a good and funny translation of what would have considered harmless children's stories into modern day PC propaganda. What I will say is that it did get a tiny bit repetitive but otherwise it is a good read. Highly recommended for all those who remember the good old days of our children's stories
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2014
More entertainment for the parents than the child, especially grand parents who remember a time before "Pollical Correctness when mad!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2016
Meh, not very funny. Should be a clever play on words and situations but just ends up being dull and cut short with uninspiring endings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2011
Great fun and very clever, love all the political and social concepts and the often complete reworkings of these classic tales.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2011
The book is really funny, easy to get the idea about the stories even if you've forgotten them or never read them before.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2012
I originally bought the hard copy of this book and it is hilarious. I wanted to read it on holiday so downloaded it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
It was quite good, the stories were funny, but it was read too quickly didn't get much satisfaction from reading it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
Funny and novel for the first few stories but starts to wear thin by the end, not bad for 99p to pass some time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2010
The book's title is enticing and it's a great idea. Unfortunately, I found the content really tedious. The fairy tales (predictably, the author says he avoids the term on account of heterosexual bias) avoid political incorrectness by long circumlocutions, and much of the content is pretty predictable. Am I missing something, or is there a problem with 'stepmother' and 'stepdaughter' in the Cinderella story. I couldn't understand why they became 'mother-of-step' and 'sisters-of-step'. Some illustrations would maybe have helped to liven up the book - it's all text.

The author encourages suggestions for rectification if there are aspects of political correctness he has overlooked. Perhaps I could suggest the Emperor's New Clothes is offensive to anti-royalists, and that he - or maybe she - could have been a president. And might the story of the three pigs be judged offensive to religious groups for whom the pig is an unclean animal?

I was glad I bought it in an Oxfam shop, and that therefore the author didn't get any royalties from me (or should they be called revenues of republican leaders?)!
44 Comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2014
Excellent. Read years ago,and tracked down for presents. Would recommend to anyone with a sense of humour.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse