Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 12 January 2008
The other two reviewers have indicated that this is not for the beginner. True you could not teach yourself to shoot by reading it; but it is never too soon to begin to understand what is going on "underneath" when you are drawing a bow and I think it would be an inavaluable addition to any thinking archer's library.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 February 2013
Does not emphasise the archery muscles sufficiently. not more than basic information. probably got it all on your bookshelf already.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 March 2010
This book will explain exactly how your body works and what happens inside it when you use your bow. Every muscle, bone and tendon involved in the process is clearly explained from simple to complicate in a extremely clear way understandable for everyone. It's probably the best biomechanics book I ever read and I think it will be very useful to any level of archery. Fantastic value for money and an example of how books about difficult subjects can be made clear. Special mention for pictures, clear and rigorous. One of the few books that you will not put on your book shelf once you finished reading it, because you'll go back to it over and over again.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 November 2013
A good well rounded coverage of archery and anatomy, very comprehensive even goes into nutritional information. If you are looking to get the best out of yourself and the sport, this should be a must for your libary
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 April 2012
Excellent book. Essential reading. Not an easy read - quite technical - but well worth the effort. Covers the bow and the archer. I adopted some of the techniques described in the book and instantly felt more relaxed and had less muscle strain. Doesn't just say what to do and what not to do, it explains what's going on in your skeleton and muscles and in the bow.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 April 2008
I'm only a beginner, but I found this book extremely useful, being told why things worked - or didn't - rather than just being told what to do or not. As well as an overview of the mechanics of body and equipment, the book gives some really good practical advice I haven't seen elsewhere - always explaining exactly why, of course. If you too are the kind of person who ALWAYS reads the manual, this is for you.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 April 2000
Ray Afford has written a very comprehensive work , it certainly improved my archery ,once I had found out ,that I didnt need to be a surgeon to use the information in the book .A must for the improving archer ,but not a beginners book Roxborough@bosinternet.com
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 August 2015
If you're seeking help with specific aspects of your form or just looking to improve your archery by optimising your effort through biomechanical application, this book is pure gold. It shows you, as an individual, because we are all different, how your body wants to shoot the bow, not how you think you should shoot the bow. The illustrations and text, show and explain the permutations of aspects of the shot cycle from different perspectives and allows you to conclude the optimum solution for you. I wish I'd found this book 10 years ago. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 March 2014
As a Coach I have found this book very useful when trying to explain a concept to my pupils. I was referred this book and do not regret having my own copy now considering how I now use it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 December 1997
This book is the most comprehensive scientific study of archery that I have ever had the pleasure to read. It addresses both the physiology of shooting and the math and physics of how a bow works. If your are just getting started in archery, however, you are better of taking in some more basic material before you tackle this bible of archery jargon.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)