Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Learn more



on 20 March 2018
As a Creation fan I was always gonna get round to reading this. And I'm happy to report that it's even better than I'd hoped. McGee is honest, entertaining, even-handed, and knows how to tell a story. As a voracious consumer of music (auto)biography, I'd say this is up there with Julian Cope's stuff for inspirational madness.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 February 2017
A fun read for those with a special interest in the long and pretty interesting life story of Creation Records' main protagonist. Not the most brilliant or compelling writing, frankly, (not sure who edited this, but at times it reads like an email...) however if you can overlook the typos and forgettable prose style - it does offer some insight into the psyche of the man who discovered and developed some of the biggest music acts of the last 30 years.

It's not really a page-turner, but who cares, it's decent-enough if you stick with it ;)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 December 2016
Very interesting book about the man who started Creation Records who went on to sign Oasis, Ride, Teenage Fanclub, The Jesus and Mary Chain and Primal Scream. Some funny entertaining stories. Including one very interesting bit about Jimmy Saville.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 January 2014
Alan McGee is known for giving Primal Scream and Oasis to the world, but this excellently-written book gives so much more about the trials of running a record label when competing against majors and also how the music business has changed. I enjoyed the anecdotes and the chaos of his earlier life as well as his self-awareness and realisation that the music could still be great without the drink and drugs. This is a great insight into the business itself and is tightly-written - there is no fat that needed to be edited out, I really enjoyed every page.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 May 2016
Was looking for something on oasis and recognized Alan and creation. Great story with tons of interesting tales from times before I liked the bands. Upbeat, interesting and a pleasure to read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 October 2016
great read and honest
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 December 2016
Alan McGee is a good story teller, but the book tails off at the end. You also get the feeling there were some great stories that have been forgotten due to the drug intake!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 December 2015
top book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 September 2015
A very fast paced journey through the Creation story,amazing to hear about it all from the man himself. If you loved the band's that were with Creation and can relate to some of the chaos and high jinks of these times,you will thoroughly enjoy this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 February 2016
Bought as a present and loved by the recipient
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)